The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

high load

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by softexp23, Jan 18, 2008.

  1. softexp23

    softexp23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    From time to time, not at the same hour, and not following any other rule, my load jumps to 10, 30, and even above 100. Well, those times the server is of course very very slow, close to not working, and the phones are ringing.

    Tried to search to this forum and google, a way to discover exactly what causes the high load. I see the load with the uptime command or top. I use top a lot, I see for example 200 processes, and a just few with more than 1% at CPU column mainly httpd or mysql. If I add that column it's not 100%. So that doesn't really help me. How can I discover in that short period when the load is jumping what is actually happenning, what processes are actually slowing all down.

    Thanks,
    Stefan
     
  2. isranet

    isranet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    Can be 1001 reasons for high load and among them:

    - cpanel update processes running
    - antivirus update processes running
    - antispam processes running
    - emails processing
    - your customer's scripts processing bad mysql queries
    and a lot more.

    Also it depends on your server configuration, both hardware and software:

    - what kind of CPU you have
    - how many RAM
    - in which way did you compile your Apache and PHP
    - how MySQL configured
     
    #2 isranet, Jan 19, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2008
  3. softexp23

    softexp23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I agree. But that's not my question. My question is how do I find out what processes exactly cause my high load and how much do each contribute to this high load.
     
  4. isranet

    isranet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Israel
    Here is a nice article answering your question
     
  5. softexp23

    softexp23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    article

    Yes, i'll try that to see if it works. thanks :)

     
Loading...

Share This Page