Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

High Memory usage on New VPS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nirbhay712, Jun 25, 2017.

Tags:
  1. nirbhay712

    nirbhay712 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recently bought a new VPS and have hosted a single WordPress site with jus few pages and have zero traffic but still, i can see that used memory is high.as i am new to VPS i might not be able to understand these figures.Please let me know what these stats mean.At some point the used memory is exceeded to 1 Gb and free memory is zero, why is this thing happening to my server.Hosting support guys are saying that it is fine and 60-70% memory usage is normal for VPS and Linux to perform in such way only.Please shed some light on this as i am very worried about this memory consumption
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,741
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    looks pretty normal to me you have just shy of 1G free (free & cache)
    When your memory free goes to 0 I would bet your cache goes up
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. nirbhay712

    nirbhay712 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    But why it uses 600-700 mb everytime?
     
  4. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,878
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    If you check the screenshot you gave, at the right side, you will see the available section and that is the actual one and I can see that to be okay. The free column is something called active one and that is available, but the one that is cached is also usable data and can be used anytime they are recalled..
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Technical Support Community Manager
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    44,803
    Likes Received:
    1,898
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice