The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High Memory usage on New VPS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by nirbhay712, Jun 25, 2017.

Tags:
  1. nirbhay712

    nirbhay712 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I recently bought a new VPS and have hosted a single WordPress site with jus few pages and have zero traffic but still, i can see that used memory is high.as i am new to VPS i might not be able to understand these figures.Please let me know what these stats mean.At some point the used memory is exceeded to 1 Gb and free memory is zero, why is this thing happening to my server.Hosting support guys are saying that it is fine and 60-70% memory usage is normal for VPS and Linux to perform in such way only.Please shed some light on this as i am very worried about this memory consumption
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    203
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    looks pretty normal to me you have just shy of 1G free (free & cache)
    When your memory free goes to 0 I would bet your cache goes up
     
  3. nirbhay712

    nirbhay712 Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    But why it uses 600-700 mb everytime?
     
  4. 24x7server

    24x7server Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    52
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    If you check the screenshot you gave, at the right side, you will see the available section and that is the actual one and I can see that to be okay. The free column is something called active one and that is available, but the one that is cached is also usable data and can be used anytime they are recalled..
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36,958
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page