Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

High Server Load and Memory...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RAIS2, Sep 4, 2004.

  1. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I checked the server status of my box, both the server load and memory was extremely high, I then closed any windows that I had open for my box (except WHM so I could monitor the progress of the status). After that the memory slightly dropped.

    First check:
    Server Load: more than 6.0
    Memory used: 96%

    Usual server load: 0.00 to 0.45
    Usual Memory used: 48% to 60%

    Now when I check the server load is normal, but the memory is extremly low less than 16%

    What should I do?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    The load and memory has stablized, and returned to normal
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,460
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    463
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You really need to monitor performance on the server using the top command as the information given within WHM is spurious to say the least.

    After typing in top, I'd recommend doing the following, don't press [enter] unless it says to here:

    c
    s
    2[enter]
    W

    c = view commands
    s = change refresh interval
    2 = every 2 seconds
    W = saves your top settings
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Chirpy,

    Thanks, that command will let me better monitor the server for the load averages and memory usage. But as for the cause I found it to be a few parse errors in one of my scripts, now corrected after investigation into the cause.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. AlphaWebspace

    AlphaWebspace Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kindom
    you may find that yout tmp or mysql is using your memory.
     
  6. RAIS2

    RAIS2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Actually it was indeed the tmp dir. As I stated there was a parse error in a script. I didn't get a parse error page as the server load was too high. But I have tracked the error and corrected it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice