The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High Server Load by nobody

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Doctor, Aug 28, 2003.

  1. Doctor

    Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    10:43am up 1 day, 19:56, 2 users, load average: 6.24, 6.64, 9.85
    182 processes: 174 sleeping, 6 running, 0 zombie, 2 stopped
    CPU states: 93.2% user, 6.9% system, 0.0% nice, 783752.9% idle
    Mem: 253308K av, 249488K used, 3820K free, 0K shrd, 9264K buff
    Swap: 1052216K av, 316500K used, 735716K free 31412K cached

    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME COMMAND
    18035 nobody 20 0 23860 2464 2460 R 24.9 0.9 219:10 httpd
    18036 nobody 20 0 22784 2472 2468 R 24.9 0.9 218:51 httpd
    4687 nobody 19 0 11352 4684 4684 R 24.7 1.8 12:27 httpd
    ---------------------------------------------------------

    Can anyone tell me why the command HTTPD by NOBODY is bogging down the server? Any suggestions on improving the situation

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. mjm

    mjm BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    try restarting apache.

    "service httpd restart"

    do you have any large scripts running on the server that could be causing this?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Doctor

    Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks for the advise but what I am more interested is knowing how this can happen and prevent it from happening again. Anyone?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. mjm

    mjm BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    "do you have any large scripts running on the server that could be causing this?"

    i _think_ PHP is included in the HTTPD process. perhaps you have some PHP scripts that are doing a bunch of stuff?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. Doctor

    Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I don't run any heavy scripts on my server but I am not sure about my clients. What are the appropriate steps for me to trace this high load back to the source?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    It's exceptionally hard to trace a specific apache process back to the source unless apache has invoked a script parser (Perl, CGI, PHP, etc.).

    I would suggest that you enable suexec if possible, click on "Modify Apache Memory Usage" in WHM if you haven't already, tweak the min, max, spare, timeouts, etc. in your apache config file and hope for the best.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. Doctor

    Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried going to "Modify Apache Memory Usage" but the page doesn't come up with any fields... last time there are fields for you to change the values...now they are missing.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. ciphervendor

    ciphervendor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The Modify Apache Memory Usage feature is automated. You click the link and the server does some calculations, modifies your httpd.conf and spits out the output in WHM.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. Doctor

    Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I modified Apache Memory Usage, still HTTPD keeps growing larger by every passing hour. It keeps on growing until it dies. I found a few threads in this forum talking about the same problem but without any solution at all. Can somebody please help me out?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. pagedeveloping

    pagedeveloping Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Here's what you can do!

    When looking at "show current cpu usage"

    write down the "pid" of the process that is running the server high.

    now go to "apache status" and match that "pid" and you found your source.

    It's up to you where you want to go from there.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. Przemek

    Przemek Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Sometimes such behavior of apache/httpd (taking more and more memory until it dies or crashes the server) can be caused by corrupted MySQL database. Try to do the following:
    1) Kill the mysql server
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql stop

    2) Repair all SQL databases:
    myisamchk -r /var/lib/mysql/*/*.MYI

    3) Start mysql again:
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql start

    IF after this httpd keeps growing then you have to look further...

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #11 Przemek, Sep 7, 2003
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2003
Loading...

Share This Page