The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High server load !webpage opens slowly??Do i need clustering ?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by sam_jav, Jun 18, 2004.

  1. sam_jav

    sam_jav Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello All,
    I have been monitoring the load on my server for quite some time.I have worked with Mysql optimization on server,indexing the tables etc.I have tested all my-huge,my-large etc file by naming them to my.cnf.
    All along it the webpages on server opens very slowly despite all works.We have Red-hat 9,Intel Xeon processors(4 in number 3Ghz) with 2GB of RAM installed.
    Here I am pasting my memory usage on server:
    **********************************************
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 2064400 1761076 303324 0 258252 1293040
    -/+ buffers/cache: 209784 1854616
    Swap: 2096440 33400 2063040
    Total: 4160840 1794476 2366364
    **********************************************
    Along with top output:
    01:18:48 up 20 days, 23:54, 1 user, load average: 2.48, 1.75, 1.59
    132 processes: 124 sleeping, 1 running, 7 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU0 states: 17.3% user 11.1% system 0.0% nice 0.0% iowait 70.4% idle
    CPU1 states: 14.1% user 6.4% system 0.0% nice 0.0% iowait 78.3% idle
    CPU2 states: 19.1% user 6.0% system 0.0% nice 0.0% iowait 74.2% idle
    CPU3 states: 17.0% user 4.2% system 0.0% nice 0.0% iowait 78.1% idle
    Mem: 2064400k av, 1761680k used, 302720k free, 0k shrd, 258252k buff
    983400k actv, 20928k in_d, 37420k in_c
    Swap: 2096440k av, 33400k used, 2063040k free 1294180k cached

    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME CPU COMMAND
    1973 mysql 15 0 22608 22M 2092 S 45.3 1.0 0:18 2 mysqld
    30077 root 24 0 4028 4028 2916 S 3.1 0.1 0:16 2 httpd
    15782 nobody 24 0 0 0 0 Z 0.7 0.0 0:00 1 httpd <defunct>
    1364 root 15 0 1328 1328 900 R 0.5 0.0 0:01 1 top
    15779 nobody 25 0 0 0 0 Z 0.3 0.0 0:00 3 httpd <defunct>
    15787 nobody 25 0 0 0 0 Z 0.3 0.0 0:00 0 httpd <defunct>
    15793 nobody 24 0 0 0 0 Z 0.3 0.0 0:00 0 httpd <defunct>
    15795 nobody 24 0 0 0 0 Z 0.3 0.0 0:00 2 httpd <defunct>
    143 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.1 0.0 9:57 0 kjournald
    15794 nobody 25 0 0 0 0 Z 0.1 0.0 0:00 3 httpd <defunct>
    1 root 15 0 124 76 56 S 0.0 0.0 0:38 0 init
    2 root RT 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 0 migration/0
    3 root RT 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 1 migration/1
    4 root RT 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 2 migration/2
    5 root RT 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:00 3 migration/3
    6 root 15 0 0 0 0 SW 0.0 0.0 0:02 3 keventd
    7 root 34 19 0 0 0 SWN 0.0 0.0 0:10 0 ksoftirqd_CPU0
    8 root 34 19 0 0 0 SWN 0.0 0.0 0:01 1 ksoftirqd_CPU1

    We are currently reached to limit of resource usage on the server as per my knowledge.I need to resolve the load ,slow webpage opening issue asap.
    CAn anybody tell me what should I do to lower the load?What could be the main reson for slow webpage opening ?Should I need a clustering of the server?OR else?
    The site name is studiotraffic.com.
    Anybody to verify and please let me know
    Thnak you
     
  2. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You have very high iowait numbers. This can either be a somehwat incompatible kernel, or it could be that you truly have large iowait times.

    iowait times is when the processor is waiting for data from the disk.

    Maybe consider scsi drives.
     
  3. sHORTYWZ

    sHORTYWZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I may be reading this wrong, but it looks to me like his iowait is at zero?

    What's with the zombie httpd's?

    Have you done any optimizing of apache?
     
    #3 sHORTYWZ, Jun 18, 2004
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2004
  4. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Up, yup, I misread that! Sorry!
     
  5. sam_jav

    sam_jav Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello
    Thanks for your responce, but if i increse the iowait number will it work and how much should i set it, where can i find that i mean in which file.
    I was tried to delete the error_log and binary log which was very in size it was in GB so it works temparly but i want the perfect solution. any one knows pls reply.

    thanks
     
  6. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You may want to consider havings someone look into this for you since it seems you are pretty new at this.

    Go back and read our responses again. I misread the part about the iowait, and you can't adjust it if you wanted to, its a statistic, not a setting...
     
  7. sam_jav

    sam_jav Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hello
    Yes I'll defenatly ask some else about it, i think you don't have the answer, ok we both are new in this. If you find any solution please let me know.

    sam
     
  8. GOT

    GOT Get Proactive!

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    900
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Norfolk, VA
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    heh... I'm not that new at this...

    What I am saying is that someone probably needs to get into your box and take a closer look. It could be traffic, it could har ddrive performance, if could be a mysql optimization problem.

    If all those defunct apache processes are still hanging around in your process list, then that definitely is a problem.
     
  9. sam_jav

    sam_jav Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    hey..
    Thanks for the resopnce, i know that you are not new, i just say cause to get some more knowledge from you and it works.

    thanks
     
  10. Redmak

    Redmak Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Those defunct processes could mean that one of your log files is too big

    try: /scripts/biglogcheck

    If so you'll need to rotate your logs
     
  11. sHORTYWZ

    sHORTYWZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Sort of a sidetrack here - but is there a list anywhere of what all of these little scripts do in the /scripts/ directory? Seems to me that cPanel just keeps adding stuff there and not telling anyone what it does.
     
Loading...

Share This Page