The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

High Server Loads Since Latest Release

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by t9clkclnr, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. t9clkclnr

    t9clkclnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    cpsrvd-ssl - causing high loads

    this just started happening today. cpsrvd-ssl is causing my servers load to increase constantly..

    Anyone experience this today. I'm on current.
     
  2. t9clkclnr

    t9clkclnr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    my system specs

    WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.17.0-C19434
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.6 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0
     
  3. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I can confirm this

    Seen it on 2 different servers now spawning two cpsrvd-ssl processes using 1 CPU each. Ended up killing the processes as they had been running for over 45 minutes. Checked where they were coming from and it was within cPanel directories so have no reason to believe it was a malicious process or anything.
     
  4. Dathorn_ADT

    Dathorn_ADT Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've seen this on 6 of our servers so far. This only started after the most recent STABLE update. You'd think by the time STABLE got around to being updated that these problems wouldn't exist.
     
  5. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Just killed one that had been running for 2.5 hours...

    Has anyone tried sending in a ticket to cPanel about this?
     
  6. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same problem here, with cPanel 11.17.0-R19434 (just updated last night)

    I have opened Ticket #233328 with cPanel.

    Update: Not hearing anything from cPanel for a while, I had my data center open a ticket, to get this escalated. Their cPanel ticket number is #233358

    - Scott
     
    #6 sneader, Jan 18, 2008
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  7. ToddShipway

    ToddShipway Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, TX
  8. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Nick answered my ticket with the following:

    Unfortuntely, the fix only lasted for an hour... now I have TWO of these processes running, both @ 100% CPU.

    18862 root 25 0 100 61:51.96 0.5 18116 10m 2368 R cpsrvd-ssl
    24947 root 25 0 100 9:34.63 0.5 18116 10m 2368 R cpsrvd-ssl


    With 4 CPUs, that's still only 50% CPU and load average is at 2.00, so it's not too bad... leaving it run in hopes it helps the staff at cPanel resolve this.

    - Scott
     
  9. Dathorn_ADT

    Dathorn_ADT Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the updates. A publicly available fix would certainly be appreciated as well.

    FWIW, I'm still seeing this same issue crop up on our servers. Some new ones, some that have already experienced it.
     
  10. LBJ

    LBJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    We updated 3 of our servers to the latest stable yesterday and we've seen cpsrvd-ssl run rampant on all 3. There's never been an issue prior to the update.
     
  11. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    LBJ, do you tend to leave whm windows open?
     
  12. LBJ

    LBJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Not usually.

    Since yesterday's update on 3 of our servers, 2 were subsequently accessed only to add an account on each and then logout. The other was open for an extended period during an apache update.

    All 3 had the problem though.
     
  13. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    EDGE has been updated to include a work around for this problem. At this point EDGE is probably much safer then usual because we just built STABLE so it works out to be STABLE + a big merge of bugfixes and very little new functionality.
     
  14. LBJ

    LBJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks for that, but is the workaround included in Edge different to...

    We're happy to move to Edge if it definitely fixes the problem. Have you found it to be a definite, permanent fix in production environments?
     
  15. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    11.17.1-EDGE_19717 appears to fully resolve the issue. We should know for sure in 48 hours, however it is extremely likely that it is solved.
     
  16. sneader

    sneader Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The problem has been resolved (for 12 hours now) after Nick applied the necessary fix for me.

    - Scott
     
  17. Jones

    Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Is the fix available on Current Version too?

    We are seeing load also when accessing WHM.


    Jones
     
  18. cbwass

    cbwass Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    WHM 11.15.0 cPanel 11.17.0-S19434
    CENTOS Enterprise 3.9 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    I'm getting this on a few servers when I leave a browser window open with WHM.
    If I close the browser and restart Cpanel (/etc/init.d/cpanel restart) it clears it up until I open another connection from the browser. Not a big problem for me, but if a few resellers start to connect what will happen?
     
  19. logikstudios

    logikstudios Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2006
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys. Ive just noticed that ever time i log into the server. Its has been extremely high. If i goto Show Current CPU Usage it shows it caused by me. whostmgrd - serving xx.xx.xxx.xxx

    If i kill this process. Everything goes back to normal. Anyone else having this?

    Cheers,
    Nathaniel
     
  20. VeZoZ

    VeZoZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
Loading...

Share This Page