The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Holy ""DMA"" BatMan

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by WeMasterz5, Jul 15, 2003.

  1. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    dont see anything on hdd dma with a search, is there away to undo whatever that does when you click on the enable it link

    one cpanel server is working fine

    Disk hdc3 (/) DMA+ 17 %
    Disk hdc1 (/boot) DMA+ 15 %
    Disk hdc6 (/home) DMA+ 6 %
    Disk hdd1 (/usr) DMA+ 25 %
    Disk hdc7 (/var) DMA+


    the other new one we got back online today had enable next to each one of those, we click on one and now the server can not be reached from anywhere?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number: 18354
     
  2. Mivo

    Mivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Good I cheked here first. :D I was almost tempted to click the Enable link. What is this DMA batman all about?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. zex

    zex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2001
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    DMA is Direct Memory Access, it provides faster handling with I/O operation on HDD.
    It can significantly speed up your HDD if you enable it or can crash your server down, as it warring say's before you click link :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Mivo

    Mivo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2001
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Is there a way to unable DMA if it doesn't work out on a hard drive?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. WeMasterz5

    WeMasterz5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    361
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Miami
    this is from cpanel


    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Serverplan

    Serverplan Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    but why also my reseller can enable DMA when he click on service status can see the link No DMA! (Click to Enable)

    bye

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. pingo

    pingo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2002
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    but why also my reseller can enable DMA when he click on service status can see the link No DMA! (Click to Enable)

    I hope that this was a joke :confused:

    John

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page