Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

/home and /home2 on one drive... is it possible?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jmmenef, Aug 27, 2007.

  1. jmmenef

    jmmenef Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I am moving to another server soon. The old server had 2 hard drives and the new server only has one huge drive. Three of my accounts have problems when I tried to move them to the /home drive (they were on a /home2 drive on the old server). They are running joomla and one of the php scripts is looking for some files or something in a /home2 directory.... that doesnt exist on the new server.

    So, I was thinking about creating a /home2 directory on the new server and moving that way, but I am not certain how to do it outside of whm. I can create a folder using putty commands, but whm doesnt see it.

    Any help on this would be much appreciated.
     
  2. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My suggestion would be:

    NOTE: Make sure you create /home2 first. Then 'ls -alt /|grep home' - make sure /home2 has the same permissions as /home and that /home2 is owned by the same user and group as /home. AFTER you have verified that /home2 is created and has the same ownership and permissions as /home, do the following:

    1. Log into WHM
    2. Click on Server Configuration
    3. Select Basic CPanel/WHM Setup
    4. Change Home Directory Prefix to: /home2 and SAVE
    - only do this while you are creating/moving the problematic accounts

    Then when you create new accounts or move/import accounts, they will be placed on /home2.

    AS SOON AS you are finished getting those few accounts moved onto /home2, you will want to repeat #1 through #3, and then in step #4 change Home Directory Prefix back to: /home and SAVE.

    That way your new accounts will continue to be made on /home but Cpanel will create those few problematic accounts on /home2.


    Mike
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Note that Joomla does have 2 configuration settings in which absolute paths are used. These may still be set to the old settings of /home2, you may want to just take the easier solution of changing these 2 entries rather than messing with creating an entirely new partition.
     
  4. gribozavr

    gribozavr Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    53
    If you are running Linux, try adding this line to /etc/fstab
    /home /home2 none bind 0 0

    And run as root
    mount /home2

    Now all files under /home would be accessible under /home2 as well.

    Works for me.
     
  5. DeepakW

    DeepakW Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Creating new home2 is not a good idea instead just check the configuration of the joomla
    and change the settings for it.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice