The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Home partitioning - HELP

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bin_asc, Oct 21, 2006.

  1. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I want to install cPanel on my home PC, and am using CentOS 4.4, recently downloaded. And I need to figure out the best scheme for partitioning. I`m using for the install vmware, and have alloted 20 GB for the install. I want to use this environment, and license, only for testing various stuff on cPanel, so really, it`s better to install it home, then keep paying for server reinstalls. Can anyone suggest a good partitioning scheme for a 20 GB HDD ? If necesary, I can increase it to 30 GB, but i`d want to stick to 20 GB. I really look forward to your replies :D
     
  2. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Um, that`s for a 40 GB hdd, I have a 20 GB... I can`t just cut all in half...Anyone else with a bit more experience ?
     
  4. Lyttek

    Lyttek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Keep the system partitions about the same... cut space on the /home partition(s)

    The system needs the space it needs regardless of drive size... the user space /home is much more flexible.
     
  5. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Use the settings as shown, The /home simply fills the availalbe space with the settings provided. If you trim any of the other partitions, you will probably have problems
     
  6. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So basically, I can play with home space, but rest leave it as is in the WHM documentation. Correct ?
     
  7. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Essentially, yes... /home should be allowed to use the available disk space typically
     
  8. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    darn it, I installed cpanel, everything goes fine but at the end the install keeps going with :

    ......
    ......
    ......
    ......


    It just doesn`t end ! Help !
     
  9. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    How long have you waited? The install process can take several hours. You can also check the /var/log/cpanel*.log thread files for information on what it is doing unless it has gone beyond that stage.
     
  10. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, about a day ... I know chirpy, I checked the forum and got the same answer that you posted :P.... I pressed CTRL+C to cancel the operation, odd that it continued to install it after that ( why didn`t I do this like 22 hours ago... :( ) Anyway, I got the blasted thing installed, but now have problems with forwarding ports to the install....:( . I have a static ip at hom, 1 trendnet router, and I dunno how I should forward the ips to get cPanel to work with my ip. Any ideas anyone ? A good linux guru would help...
     
  11. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Regardless of the router, Cpanel will see your IP at your home. I would set the linux box in a DMZ and allow CSF/LFD to do the firewall duties for now.

    Even without that DMZ just use your public IP when setting up the box and communicating with Cpanel.

    If you have other sysetms on the router, you should set up port forwarding to the linux box on all used ports (the DMZ eliminates all this headache)
     
  12. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, but, even though I did that, still no luck.... I have a router, and vmware has a system for communicating with the internet ( bridging and nat ), that I just can`t figure out.
     
  13. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    can you see the box from outside your LAN?
     
  14. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Finally got it to work, it was hard, but cPanel works :D

    Here`s what I did. I had to set vmware on bridged network only, so my router would assign the virtual server an ip, and not vmware. Then, I had to remove the ip from the DMZ. It just didn`t work on DMZ settings. Then, I just set rules, in the NAT, and everything works. Too bad trendnet only allows 10 rules only for port forwarding :((

    Oh well... thanks randy and rest for the help.

    Moderators can close this thread.
     
  15. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sort of odd... the dmz is free of any firewall rules or filters (the whole point) must have been some kind of conflict with vmware. (I just have PC's everywhere)
     
  16. bin_asc

    bin_asc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thing is, I need to forward common cpanel ports from my 192.168.x.x ip to the exterior one, because I have 2 pcs in my network.Even with DMZ on, it wouldn`t matter, as I still need to tell the router which ports to get from where.
     
Loading...

Share This Page