The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users.
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/home/username/tmp not being created with new accounts (no stats programs work)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tutt, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. tutt

    tutt Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just recently realized that no new accounts are being created with the /home/username/tmp directory so therefore, Awstats and other stats programs don't work until I manually copy over the tmp directory from another user and change all the settings. This is no fun. I do have the wwwacct file chattr +i and have for a while. I am wondering if this file may have changed in a recent release of cPanel and may account for why the new accounts are not being setup properly. Otherwise, does anyone have any ideas??
     
  2. theprimehost

    theprimehost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm getting this too. Any thoughts?
     
  3. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same here - with latest STABLE 9.9.8-S6
    Any fixes?
     
  4. theprimehost

    theprimehost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was able to fix it by doing the following:

    Manually creating a "tmp" directory.
    Running /scripts/runweblogs username

    This appears to have corrected it for me.


    Best Regards,
    Darrell
     
  5. theprimehost

    theprimehost Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2002
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Er...disregard that only "appeared" to have corrected it.
     
  6. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Didn't help :mad:

    Does anybody have "OLD" wwwacct script so we will look into and grab usefull things to build our /tmp creator :cool: until cPanelBilly do something with it :D
     
  7. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello?

    Is there anybody who can solve this problem?! Is there any working version of cPanel now?
     
  8. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    I've never had a problem with that and I use edge.

    The folder isn't created when the account is created. It is created when the stats run. If it never gets created, maybe your stats aren't running.
     
  9. netlook

    netlook Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Right - false positive :p
     
  10. Eli_ch

    Eli_ch Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Switzerland
    i firstly thought i had the same problem like you, but now i think this isn't really a big problem!

    1. in your whm, check under tweak settings your entries in section "Stats Programs"

    2. then perhaps you can start the script /usr/local/cpanel/cpanellogd

    now, the tmp dir should exists.

    greets

    eli
     
  11. krisdv

    krisdv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Belgium
    I'm running Cpanel 9.9.9 S15 and for each account I create the folder /tmp/webalizer is created but /tmp/awstats and the awstats config file is not created. I did install statselect but that's done some time ago. And awstats and webalizer are put as default.

    In Tweak setting under stats programs these three are selected:

    Awstats Reverse Dns Resolution
    Awstats Stats
    Webalizer Stats
     
  12. krisdv

    krisdv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Belgium
    Problem solved by reinstalling rrdtool, I found the problem after "service cpanel restart"
     
  13. alrock

    alrock Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Can you expand a little on how to reinstall the rrdtool? Many here are not linux gurus and it may stop 300 threads on the same subject from forming.
     
  14. krisdv

    krisdv Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Belgium
  15. alrock

    alrock Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Thanks krisdv that's great.
     
  16. project3

    project3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    still not working

    I have the same problem I reinstalled rrdtool and still I cant add any more domains because tmp dir that holds stats is not created.
     
Loading...

Share This Page