The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

/home: write failed, user disk limit reached

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dillard, Jun 18, 2004.

  1. Dillard

    Dillard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Since the recent (forced) upgrade to Edge-13 (I'm on FreeBSD) I receive these errors "/home: write failed, user disk limit reached" while logged in with SSH.

    These messages occur on FreeBSD 4.9 and 5.1 and only since the upgrade, therefor I suspect it has something to do with Cpanel.

    The strange part is that it can't be found in any logfile. Tried /scripts/fixquotas but that didn't do it.

    I'm now monitoring my screens, and I suspect that it has something to do with:
    - mailman
    - melange

    I mostly suspect mailman, because on one server where we do not have users on yet, I don't receive any messages. All other servers (have mailinglist) and these messages...

    Anyone the same messages on the prompt and/or any idea how to stop these ?

    Dillard
     
  2. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Did you ever figure out what was causing this? I just upgraded to the latest stable version the other day and have been having the same problem ever since. Here's what I'm getting:

    /: write failed, user disk limit reached

    yet when I do this, it says no quota

    # quota
    Disk quotas for user root (uid 0): none
     
    #2 Jeff75, May 20, 2005
    Last edited: May 20, 2005
  3. netwrkr

    netwrkr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I believe this message is referring to an account on the server that has exceeded the set quota. I also see it from time to time on my linux servers when logged in via SSH.

    Tom
     
  4. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I saw it on a VPS

    I have seen this on a VPS when there was still diskspace but no free inodes.
     
Loading...

Share This Page