Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

/home: write failed, user disk limit reached

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dillard, Jun 18, 2004.

  1. Dillard

    Dillard Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Since the recent (forced) upgrade to Edge-13 (I'm on FreeBSD) I receive these errors "/home: write failed, user disk limit reached" while logged in with SSH.

    These messages occur on FreeBSD 4.9 and 5.1 and only since the upgrade, therefor I suspect it has something to do with Cpanel.

    The strange part is that it can't be found in any logfile. Tried /scripts/fixquotas but that didn't do it.

    I'm now monitoring my screens, and I suspect that it has something to do with:
    - mailman
    - melange

    I mostly suspect mailman, because on one server where we do not have users on yet, I don't receive any messages. All other servers (have mailinglist) and these messages...

    Anyone the same messages on the prompt and/or any idea how to stop these ?

    Dillard
     
  2. Jeff75

    Jeff75 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Did you ever figure out what was causing this? I just upgraded to the latest stable version the other day and have been having the same problem ever since. Here's what I'm getting:

    /: write failed, user disk limit reached

    yet when I do this, it says no quota

    # quota
    Disk quotas for user root (uid 0): none
     
    #2 Jeff75, May 20, 2005
    Last edited: May 20, 2005
  3. netwrkr

    netwrkr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I believe this message is referring to an account on the server that has exceeded the set quota. I also see it from time to time on my linux servers when logged in via SSH.

    Tom
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. rhenderson

    rhenderson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I saw it on a VPS

    I have seen this on a VPS when there was still diskspace but no free inodes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice