The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Horde causing high server loads

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gflamerich, Mar 25, 2006.

  1. gflamerich

    gflamerich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi
    Since a few days we are having some problems with horde at our box.
    We found that Horde is satable consuming more than 90% of cpu for long periods of time.
    When we notice high server loads, juts check at top and then kill the process (here is the line from this mourning, yesterday one was about the same)

    PID USER PRI NI SIZE RSS SHARE STAT %CPU %MEM TIME CPU COMMAND
    20387 cpanel 16 0 8228 732 716 R 94.2 0.0 1072m 1 /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/bin/php /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/imp/mailbox


    This is the info of our version running
    WHM 10.8.0 cPanel 10.8.1-S114
    RedHat 9 i686 - WHM X v3.1.0


    Thanks
     
  2. hicom

    hicom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    We have this same problem with users who have literally thousands of messages in their inbox so when they first login or refresh the page, they consume large amounts of CPU.

    The best way is to speak with the client and tell them to either reduce their inbox size or use different mail program
     
  3. gflamerich

    gflamerich Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Horde problem resolved

    Thanks Hicom
    But we received another solution that seems works perfect. Here is what to do
    We applied that solution a few days ago, since horde is working perfect
     
  4. hicom

    hicom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thx 4 sharing! It seems both cPanel and Horde are working better now

    - Just to add an update:

    1) Dropping Horde DB will delete any contact addreses the users have. so make sure to let them know

    2) This doesn't seem to have completely fixed the problem. It is still using a high amount of CPU resources on one user account (he has 500MB worth of emails!)
     
    #4 hicom, Apr 4, 2006
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2006
Loading...

Share This Page