The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Horde Error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mixx941, Oct 29, 2003.

  1. mixx941

    mixx941 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello everybody. I recently got a dedicated server with cPanel/WHM installed on it. So far, I'm really lovin it.

    The only problem is whenever I or a client try to launch Horde:

    Any ideas what could be wrong?

    Thanks

    -Mark
     
  2. mixx941

    mixx941 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Any ideas anyone? I have to move my 2 main websites to this server now, and need to start reselling accounts to help pay for the expensive dedicated....and I dont want to have this broke and then require my host to reinstall something losing everything.

    Thanks

    -Mark
     
  3. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Same here.
     
  4. cyberwisdom

    cyberwisdom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I get the same problem. Anyone found a fix?

    I tried /scripts/fixwebmail but I get this error:
    Code:
    chown: failed to get attributes of `/usr/local/etc/cpanel/base/webmail/data': No such file or directory
    chmod: failed to get attributes of `/usr/local/etc/cpanel/base/webmail/data': No such file or directory
     
  5. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I downgraded to stable release, this fixed it.
     
  6. mixx941

    mixx941 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Well, my webhost provided this info through the trouble ticket system:

    That fixed that problem, but a whole bunch of others arised after that. Here is my response to that trouble ticket. I would appreciate any input from you guys here because I need to start reselling hosting, and dont want a busted server.

    MY REPLY:
    Thanks in advance.

    -Mark
     
  7. talon39

    talon39 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well this is just great. I just started having this problem today. I submitted a trouble ticket at Nocster only to have the support techs there refer me to this thread. After reading this thread, I checked my version of Cpanel WHM, and sure enough someone at Nocster upgraded it without my permission today. Thanks guys. This is exactly why I wait a few months before even thinking about upgrading.
     
  8. mixx941

    mixx941 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    My dedicated server came with this version...I just recently got this server.

    Any way to fix this without "downgrading"?

    Thanks

    -Mark
     
  9. mixx941

    mixx941 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Another reply from my trouble ticket

    That fixed those problems, but still this error:

    Some of Turba's configuration files are missing:
    sources.php This file defines the list of available sources for Turba.


    The reason I'm posting these trouble ticket responses is so that maybe someone will see it and try it before having to "downgrade" to a lower version of cPanel/WHM.

    Thanks

    -Mark
     
  10. Go2reg

    Go2reg Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    ________________________________________________________

    You will want to do this

    Log in to SSH

    cd /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/config
    ls -l
    horde.php shows owned by root
    chown cpanel.cpanel horde.php

    ls -l
    horde.php is now owned by cpanel

    Go in to your cpanel and check you should be fixed.
     
  11. cjg

    cjg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2001
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    The affected file locations are:

    /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/kronolith/config/ chown cpanel:cpanel conf.php
    /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/config chown cpanel:cpanel horde.php
    /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/mnemo/config/ chown cpanel:cpanel conf.php
    /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/nag/config/ chown cpanel:cpanel conf.php
    /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde/turba/config/ chown cpanel:cpanel
    sources.php

    This appears to be happening on all new installations of servers that I have done, and also the address book error.
     
  12. probonic

    probonic Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2002
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I was having the exact same problems, but the files that were owned as root were not exactly the same.

    The quickest way to do it is to do:

    chown -R cpanel:cpanel /usr/local/cpanel/base/horde

    This will set horde and all the files it contains (correctly) to be owned by CPanel.
     
  13. altomarketing

    altomarketing Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    THANKS !!!!!!!

    IN THE NAME OF MY HOSTING USERS !!!
     
  14. Arvand

    Arvand Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If you can avoid touching cPanel files then its the best idea to not touch them (chown wont hurt but this in general is a good policy).

    This fixed it for me:

    /scripts/upcp --force

    It will re-upgrade to the version that you are at.
     
Loading...

Share This Page