The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

horder and roundcube can't connect to database error

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by dxm, Aug 1, 2008.

  1. dxm

    dxm Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    horde and roundcube can't connect to database error

    Hi,
    I recently noticed that horde and roundcube don't work, i.e. once one has logged in and selects one of those programs one gets a database connection error.

    whm version: WHM 11.23.2 cPanel 11.23.4-R26138

    Horde error is DB Error: connect failed and the roundcube error is Unable to connect to the database!

    Squirrelmail is working ok.

    I updated to the latest version of cpanel but no change.
    mysqld is running ok.

    I've searched the forums but I haven't found anything that helps yet.

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
    #1 dxm, Aug 1, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2008
  2. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I read somewhere that if you have set your mysql root pass to something containing special characters, you'll have these connection problems. Have you recently changed that pass?
     
  3. dxm

    dxm Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Actually I think that the mysql root password on that box is blank (bad, I know).
    If I change the root password, do I have to update the horde and roundcube configs anywhere?

    thanks.
     
  4. dxm

    dxm Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    To answer my own question, my google fu appears to have returned this evening.
    Basically horde (and roundcube) were looking for /tmp/mysql.sock , so by creating a symlink as per this post horde and roundcube started working just fine.

    http://forums.spry.com/showthread.php?t=1423
     
  5. cpanforum

    cpanforum Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Because the symlink is in /tmp, would this get delete in the future if the server reboots or by accident?

    It works, but is this the permanent solution?


     
  6. MaestriaNick

    MaestriaNick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    yea, there is a solution.

    go to the folder /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/etc

    there is a folder for application like horde, roundcube etc.

    for horde , go to the folder /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/etc/horde

    edit , php.ini and set

    mysql.default_socket =

    to

    mysql.default_socket = /var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock

    make the same changes to roundcube etc. if you want
     
    #6 MaestriaNick, Aug 19, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2008
  7. phred_02

    phred_02 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks MaestriaNick for the solution. I was having the same problem and this fixed it. However, does anyone know why this happened in the first place? I want to be sure it don't happen again.

    Thanks,

    Steve
     
  8. fniederm

    fniederm Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi
    it didn't work out for me, but I am having the same problem with horde and roundcube after harddisk crash and new install..oh such a mess..

    Any other ideas?
     
Loading...

Share This Page