The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Host name & Networking Setup Hostname

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by melsworld, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. melsworld

    melsworld Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,

    From how I understand it the Networking Hostname Set up can be a made up name and does not neccessarrily have to reflect your actual host name although part of the host name could be in it - Am I correct in thinking this?

    Also if I change this name after sites have been moved over and gone live it will not effect the sites other than the mail headers will change?

    Because the actual domain that I will be using for the host name in the basic panel whm setup is currently pointing to my old server until all of the sites are moved over am I correct in thinking that this will not cause a problem for the sites that are being moved over and they will function as normal and I just adjust the ip address for the host name once everything is moved over

    Thanks Mel
     
  2. singlephased

    singlephased Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Your hostname should always be FQDN

    Your hostname should always be FQDN with the host extention, if in-fact you meant that you are going to change your hostname to the new ip and then rename it to correct hostname. Then that should work but . . . you http conf will have to update and you may need to run the rebuild to make sure that you or it didn't miss.

    I always start with Fully Quantified Domain Name with the hostname:

    myserver.domain.com

    Then I make a host record with my domain name provider so that the DNS works and the name to ip resolves as a host records for nameservers.

    -Peter
     
  3. LiNUxG0d

    LiNUxG0d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
    Hi melsworld,

    Generally speaking, it's good practice to have a valid host name. Changing it mid-flight won't complicate things, as long as you do it via the WHM. I think the section is under Networking Setup -> Hostname.

    Basically, there are MANY advantages to using a valid hostname that points back to your IP. When you deliver mail, this hostname is checked to see if it's not forged or fake. Usually fake hostnames will result in poor mail delivery.

    Using a fake host name isn't wrong on non-production servers, as long as mail isn't a priority. Production servers should, in best practice, reflect true hostnames though. :)

    My 0.02$, let me know if you have follow-up questions.

    Warmest regards,
     
  4. melsworld

    melsworld Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes got a valid host name but at the moment it is pointing to the other ip address that old box is using as I have quite a few more sites to move over so cannot change the ip address as yet - suppose the only other thought is to register a new host name for the new box as most of the sites are using email on a fairly regular basis either that or I am going to have to work a bit quicker to get everything moved over LOL

    Mel
     
  5. LiNUxG0d

    LiNUxG0d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
    Yeah, well, the host name can be swapped to anything, as long as it's valid. Just create a "server2 IN A 14400 x.x.x.x" DNS entry and point it to your new server IP in your domain.com DNS zone. It'll be valid, propagated and pointing to the IP so it'll be good... dunno, just a thought. It doesn't have to be identical. The Internets do not know that domains are tied to hostnames. :) LOL!

    ;)

    J
     
    #5 LiNUxG0d, Apr 11, 2008
    Last edited: Apr 11, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page