The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hosting multiple dynamic sites

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NewFolder, Jul 17, 2012.

  1. NewFolder

    NewFolder Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi everyone,

    I have a CMS that uses one database and selects different data for different websites simply by using a column called CUST_NO in every table. Now I need to set this up on cpanel. I have a WHM and can create cpanel accounts if needed. The database is also imported and ready to serve.
    After many hours trying to figure out where to start I was hoping to get some startup help here.

    My questions: Is it possible to forward domain1.com to the same PHP files and the same database as domain2.com and somehow get the correct data for the correct site?

    I.E: A user browsing domain1.com would trigger the sql query SELECT COMPANY_NAME FROM TABLE WHERE CUST_NO=1.

    Can someone point me in the right direction?

    EDIT: The domains are external domains forwarded/redirected to my cpanel.
     
    #1 NewFolder, Jul 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2012
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It should be possible for all to use the same database, but I'd suggest putting all domains on the same account and have each as an addon domain instead of using different accounts. This way all have access to the same cPanel database on that one account.

    As for how to reference which files to use, does whoever created the CMS have any guide on doing it? It seems the files will need to call the correct data from the CMS. The files themselves have to be coded to call the right data. That itself would be a coding issue for grabbing the right data.
     
  3. NewFolder

    NewFolder Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have created this CMS myself. So I can do whatever I would like.

    The problem is not technical but more practical. I could create a simple text file with a customer number in a specific folder for every customer that gets included in the database query. I guess this would be possible somehow in cpanel.

    Another way would be to select data based on the url the request is coming from, if it is possible to send this url to the database somehow.

    The Addon suggestion looks really interesting i will defenetly check it out.
     
Loading...

Share This Page