Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

hosting transfer

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chike, Jan 22, 2010.

  1. chike

    chike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    hello everyone,

    i want to transfer my hosting account to another server and i have downloaded a full backup of my site which is in a .tar.gz format.

    how do i go about transferring the site. i hav bought a new hosting account. i think i might ask my new host company to do that for me, but i shall also be doing the same for the clients i would have on my soon to be launched reseller hosting package so i need the knowledge for myself.

    pls help

    :confused:
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,432
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    In WHM find the link on left menu named: Restore a Full Backup/cpmove File The documents on this might be helpful:
    Restore a Full Backup/cpmove File

    Upload your backup into one of the directories listed there, visit that area in your WHM and use the tool there to restore the account(s).

    HTH
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    If you have the cPanel in your existing server and also if you are transferring your file into another cPanel server then you can use the function of Transfer Account from WHM. If you do not have an access to the server you will have to contact your new hosting provider service and also you will need to provide us the existing cPanel username and password and also the Ip address of your existing cPanel server so that they can directly migrate your domain from one server to another.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. chike

    chike Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    thanks everyone

    thanks everyone,

    as soon as i finally buy my reseller hosting account, i shall try this out.

    but am wondering if i had to change the nameservers of the domain to point to my own server b4 restoring the full backup from whm.

    and i dont think the server to server transfer can be done from whm, maybe that would be done by the hosting company themselves, is that?

    thanks anyway,
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,432
    Likes Received:
    416
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Don't change the domains nameservers until the account is moved, setup and you're sure it all made it ok. Yes your new host can move it for you with your login details from the old server/account.

    GL!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice