The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hostname A record warning e-mail

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by tokyosama, May 18, 2013.

  1. tokyosama

    tokyosama Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    I'm new to Cpanel and i need some help with this issue. I have 4 ip on my cloud server 1xMain Server, 1xshared and 2xNameserver the dns i setup is correct and able to target my domain but i keep getting an email saying dns error

    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.

    Your hostname (server.domain.com) could not be resolved to an
    IP address. This means that /etc/hosts is not set up correctly,
    and/or there is no dns entry for server.domain.com. Please be
    sure that the contents of /etc/hosts are configured correctly, and
    also that there is a correct 'A' entry for the domain in the zone
    file.

    Some or all of these problems can be caused by /etc/resolv.conf
    being setup incorrectly. Please check that file if you believe
    everything else is correct.

    You may be able to automatically correct this problem by using the
    'Add an A entry for your hostname' option under 'Dns Functions' in
    your Web Host Manager.
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If your server's hostname is server.domain.com then make sure there is an A record for server in the DNS zone of the domain domain.com.
     
  3. Veeble-Adam

    Veeble-Adam Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That is not a big problem. Most probably, you received this alert because, there was a mismatch in IP address configured for hostname in DNS and in file /etc/hosts.

    Check the results of the following two commands:

    # ping -c 1 hostname
    # dig +short hostname @localhost

    If the dig command didn't give any result, you may need to use the "Add an A entry for hostname" option in the WHM.

    Add an A Entry for Your Hostname
     
  4. tokyosama

    tokyosama Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I keep Adding an A entry for hostname on 2 ip but i still get an dns email error from my server
     
    #4 tokyosama, May 18, 2013
    Last edited: May 19, 2013
  5. Veeble-Adam

    Veeble-Adam Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2013
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Not sure why you add A entry for 2 IP addresses.

    Check the primary IP address of the server and add A entry for that IP only.

    Check and confirm that the zone file contains the correct DNS records. [/var/named/hostname.db].
     
  6. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Maybe it would be easier if you just go and check if there is an A record or not?
     
  7. tokyosama

    tokyosama Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    cpanel.png
    I did check and add A record...I'm not sure which ip to used to add A record either my main server ip that have cpanel or my other ip the one i setup dns
     
  8. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The error message says clearly:

    If there is an A record for server in the DNS zone of the domain domain.com then I would guess that that DNS zone is not used.
    In the registrar of the domain domain.com, are the name servers pointing to your server?
     
  9. tokyosama

    tokyosama Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    my friend register domain is not pointing on my server but pointing on cloudflare that link to my server
     
    #9 tokyosama, May 19, 2013
    Last edited: May 19, 2013
  10. GIANT_CRAB

    GIANT_CRAB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Firstly, force resolvers (/etc/resolv.conf) to use Google DNS.
    Secondly, make sure that your hosts file (/etc/hosts) has content matching your DNS records.

    Are your name servers setup correctly to what Cloudflare wants it to be?
     
  11. tokyosama

    tokyosama Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    how do i check (/etc/resolv.conf) and (/etc/hosts)?

    Yes, the nameserver r setup right and my site is up under cloudflare but i still get this email again that dns still not resolve its very confusing why i keep getting this email
     
  12. faisikhan

    faisikhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Islamabad, Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The DNS propagation takes time upto 48 hours normally, so you might be getting these emails. Also I'd like to recommend the solution provided by Veeble-Adam, did you try this and it worked?
     
  13. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You will need to ensure the "A" record for your hostname is added on the server that handles the DNS for the domain name associated with your hostname. So, let's say your hostname is:

    hostname.server123.com

    You will need to access the DNS host of "server123.com" and ensure the "A" record for "hostname" is added. You may find that a website such as "intodns.com" is useful for determining the name servers used by the domain name.

    When you have configured the "A" record, you can check to see if the issue is resolved by running the following command:

    Code:
    # /scripts/ipcheck --verbose
    Thank you.
     
  14. tokyosama

    tokyosama Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi cPanelMichael,
    I try either my main server ip and site ip but the result is still the same when i add "A" record for hostname
    udate.png
    udate2.png
    Could it be cause by Cloudflare that my friend added that i keep getting this email dns error
     
  15. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The warning message is accurate because your hostname does not resolve to an IP address. You will need to ensure the "A" record is configured for the hostname at the DNS provider of it's domain name. It looks like you are using CloudFlare for DNS purposes based on the name servers used, so you will need to ensure the "A" record is configured at that DNS provider.

    Thank you.
     
  16. tokyosama

    tokyosama Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, i been adding major change on either 2 ip for A record for hostname if it would resolve the issue but then all of a sudden when i login to my whm login it give me an Internal Server Error 500
     
  17. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    That 500 error has nothing to do with the A record problem.
     
  18. tokyosama

    tokyosama Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I keep change either my main server or site ip on A record in order to resolve the issue but it make it worst now i keep receiving email nameserver failed or recovered
    email.png
     
    #18 tokyosama, May 21, 2013
    Last edited: May 21, 2013
  19. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket and we can take a closer look:

    Submit A Ticket

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page