The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hostname and Nameserver domains

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by TheLimey, Aug 19, 2006.

  1. TheLimey

    TheLimey Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do these have to be on the same domain?

    eg could I set up this?

    HOSTNAME: server1.myservernetwork.com

    NAMESERVERS: ns1.myhosting.com ns2.myhosting.com

    Thanks.
     
  2. RyanHost

    RyanHost Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  3. TheLimey

    TheLimey Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks.

    Next question. Can I manage the DNS for these two domains elsewhere (in other words, ignore the Add A entry bit in WHM and add A entries elsewhere)?
     
  4. RyanHost

    RyanHost Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your need to add an entry for the host name, not sure about the name servers maybe someone else can help.
     
  5. rpmws

    rpmws Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    back woods of NC, USA
    it's a good idea to have a zone local on each server that contains the box domain and the boxname as well as a zone that is accurate for the nameserver domains and their A entries. Just make sure they match other boxes that may be authoratative for that domain.

    so let's say you have server1.yourhost.com as a host name . lets say the domain's DNS is using that same server for authoratative lookups. Obvious that you need a zone on that box that has the ns evtries as well as the box name A records. Now lets say you have a server2.yourhost.com box. It's a good idea to same zones on that box as well that are in sync with the server1 ..at least the zone that is for the "yourhost.com" domain and the nameservers using that domain. If you don't do this ..you will find that email between boxes will 550 .. reason may be if server1 gets a email from server2 ..since the box names claim to be on the same domain "yourhost" .. it will want to use the local dns zone an dif they do not match or do not contain a entry for "server2" for example it can't verify a mail server. In general sync your zones when possible. You can do this with dns clustering as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page