The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hostname as subdomain for already hosted domain

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by batoo, May 5, 2013.

  1. batoo

    batoo Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Can i use subdomain.domain.com as my hostname but also use domain.com for my primary account?

    If my company website is domain.com, i force all users for ssl connection, redirecting to hostname. Thats why i want to redirect to subdomain.domain.com instead of totally new domain name.

    So after i change my hostname to subdomain.domain.com , whm added A record in already created dns zone (my primary account use domain.com zone).

    I also want to install SSL for subdomain.domain.com.

    Any problem with this?
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No I don't see any problem with that.

    But actually in a dedicated server (or VPS) there is not such a thing as "primary account" or "primary domain".
     
  3. batoo

    batoo Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    "primary account" is my company account :)
     
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes I understood that, but just wanted to point out that in your server's configuration it does not matter.
     
  5. thewebexpert

    thewebexpert Registered

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    quite frankly, you should NOT host your "company account" on your server/vps. When your server crashes (eventually) or is having issues, how will your clients contact you? Host your actual whmcs/hostbill/portal on an other site. It sucks when a server is down for maintenance or whatever, but it sucks even more if clients cannot logon and leave a ticket.
     
Loading...

Share This Page