The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hostname displays a website on the VPS

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Phlong, Dec 30, 2013.

  1. Phlong

    Phlong Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi there,
    Right now I'm having a strange issue with my VPS that uses cPanel. I have like five websites on the VPS and one hostname (domain) for the nameservers and the VPS.
    So let's say I have these websites:

    domain1.com
    domain2.com
    domain3.com

    and I access the WHM Login Panel via vps.myvpsdomain.com:2087
    All works fine using "vps.myvpsdomain.com:2087" to login.
    However, when I visit "vps.myvpsdomain.com" only (without the port), it shows me the website domain1.com in the browser although I didn't even visit it! I'd actually prefer if I enter "vps.myvpsdomain.com" only, it should show the login panel or redirect to something else.

    Hopefully someone can help me

    Thanks in advance!

    -Phlong
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    It's simply showing you the first VirtualHost on that IP address. Try rebuilding the Apache configuration file to see if that helps:

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuildhttpdconf
    Thank you.
     
  3. Phlong

    Phlong Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,
    Thanks for the reply. I just did that and now nothing is working. Cloudflare reports the the webhost is down although the VPS is online. Also I can't access the websites directly via IP/~user/
    I'll contact my Hosting Provider now and see if they can help me.

    -Phlong
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  5. Phlong

    Phlong Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Rebooting the VPS fixed all the issues.
    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page