The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hostname FQDN changes but not DNS

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Clouseau, Jan 18, 2015.

  1. Clouseau

    Clouseau Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My current setup is one server which is also a DNS:
    fqdn - bla.mydomain.net, dns are ns1.mydomain.net and ns2.mydomain.net. And all of my users have those two dns nameservers as authoritative dns for their domains and zones.

    If I install new server and do a migration to it, can I use new fqdn and keep my dns names? I want to have this:
    fqdn - bito.somethingelse.com, dns would be the same ns1.mydomain.net and ns2.mydomain.net?
     
  2. Clouseau

    Clouseau Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Tough one?
     
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,480
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  4. Clouseau

    Clouseau Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Aha :D

    Great, tnx :)

    - - - Updated - - -

    That is not related. I have server djuro.domena.com and I have ns1.domena.com on the same server. That ns1.domena.com is nameserver for domains that I host in cPanel on that server. I think I can change the hostname to kito.domain.com and keep the dns server ns1.domena.com. Correct? I have to rebrand current hosting...
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, this is acceptable.

    Thank you.
     
  6. Clouseau

    Clouseau Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    No, thank you :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page