Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

HOSTNAME refused search

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Italo Duarte, Aug 15, 2018.

  1. Italo Duarte

    Italo Duarte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Brasil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    Recently I went to register a domain next to registry.br and when making the request the system informed to me that the search for the DNS informed in the registry was refused.

    It is as if I had not registered the domain inside my server and the domain did not exist. I already checked the syntax and nothing is incorrect.

    Because registry.br does not recognize that the specified DNS does not have authority for the requested domain, it does not proceed with the request.

    I've always used the same DNS for my domains and never had any problems. 2 months ago I made the purchase of another domain pointing to the same DNS (hostnames) and everything went well ..

    But now you are presenting this error and the domain registration staff informs you that the problem is with my DNS ...

    Does anyone know anything about this problem ??
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    368
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Not really a cpanel issue
    But I have seen a few registrars out there that will reject without the DNS
    if your sure the DNS on your server is correct for the domain

    make sure the NS's A record is resolving correctly for the name servers
    they might be rejecting it for that as well
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Italo Duarte

    Italo Duarte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Brasil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I did not understand what you mean

    I use this DNS (ns1.bitsnet.net and ns2.bitsnet.net) for dozens of sites and have always used it to register domains. Why are you giving up now?

    That is the question.
     
  4. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    368
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I said make sure that both name servers have A record and are resolving
    I just checked them they are

    the registrar is going to resolve this issue for you
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Italo Duarte

    Italo Duarte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Brasil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Registration.br informs that I have to register the domain inside my server to recognize that I have authority over the domain that I am purchasing .. But I have already registered and are not recognizing.

    Would not it be a problem creating the account within WHM?
     
  6. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,224
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @Italo Duarte

    I would also suggest adding the domain to the server (even though it's not registered) so that an A record is created with those NS records as the domain's nameservers.

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    127
    Trophy Points:
    368
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,224
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    @dalem


    Actually, it just sounds like they have valid nameservers. If the zone file for the domain they want to register was properly added I would be able to query the following successfully:

    Code:
    dig @ns1.nameserver.com domain.com.br 
    Whether or not the domain is registered I should get the zone information for the domain as is present on the server. Similar to the following where updatedtest.com is not a valid domain that points to my IP address:

    Code:
    $ dig a @ns1.mynameserver.com updatedtest.com +short
    104.145.XXX.XX
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Italo Duarte

    Italo Duarte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Brasil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello @CpanelLaurem

    The account was created before requesting the registration of the domain to have no pending. but the system is not recognizing that my server has authority for the domain ..

    It is as if there is no registered domain inside my server.

    Very strange.
     
  10. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,224
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Italo Duarte


    Can you confirm that a DNS zone file for it exists which includes an A record and NS records for the nameservers you're using? Are the nameservers local or are they clustered?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. Italo Duarte

    Italo Duarte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Brasil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I do not know much about it ..

    But it's this way:

    domainremoved.com.br 14400 IN MX Priority: 0 Destination: domainremoved.com.br

    All my domains are with the zone that way.
     
    #11 Italo Duarte, Aug 15, 2018
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2018
  12. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,224
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @Italo Duarte


    All this is, is the MX record though, is there anything else in the zone file?


    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Italo Duarte

    Italo Duarte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Brasil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This information is contained within the customer's Cpanel.

    When access through WHM> edit DNS zones> and select the domain shows more things:

    Follow print:
     

    Attached Files:

  14. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,224
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hello @Italo Duarte

    That's perfect thanks for the screenshot! For the nameservers are they local (meaning do they resolve to an IP address on that server) or do you have a DNS cluster set up?

    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  15. Italo Duarte

    Italo Duarte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Brasil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have no cluster. Resolves to the IP address of the server
     
  16. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,224
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi @Italo Duarte

    Ok. I have confirmed that port 53 is open on the server for both TCP/UDP and other domain queries are successful. Are you able to access the server via SSH? I'd like to see if the domain is able to be queried locally once the DNS configuration has been rebuilt, this can be done by running the following:
    Code:
    /scripts/rebuilddnsconfig
    can you also run the following:
    Code:
    stat /var/named/domain.com.br



    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  17. Italo Duarte

    Italo Duarte Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Brasil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Can this procedure give some problems on the sites that are working?
     
  18. cPanelLauren

    cPanelLauren Forums Analyst II Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Messages:
    6,224
    Likes Received:
    478
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Houston
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    The only item that could potentially cause any issues is:

    Code:
    /scripts/rebuilddnsconfig
    
    But typically it will not cause any interruptions
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice