The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hostname resolves, domain does not

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Envisign, Dec 4, 2013.

  1. Envisign

    Envisign Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I just finished setting up WHM yesterday. My hostname is set as n.domain.com. If I go to that I get the standard cPanel "Default Homepage". If I try to go to domain.com I get webpage is not available.

    After setup, I went to "Nameserver IPs". I understand this is for display purposes only now. Initially it showed "No Ip" for both nameservers. I manually changed the nameserverips.yaml file to at least display the correct data. However since this is only for show, I'm sure there's an underlying issue.

    DNS Zone records for n.domain.com and domain.com look nearly identical aside from domain.com having extra fields like "default_domainkey" and "cpanel".

    Any help is much appreciated.
     
  2. Envisign

    Envisign Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Update: If I go to 0.0.0.0/~domaincom/ I get the page I expect, so it definitely is a resolution problem.
     
  3. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    I recommend using a third-party website such as IntoDNS to see if there are any DNS issues for you domain name. Look to see if the local name servers are detected.

    Thank you.
     
  4. Envisign

    Envisign Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry should have posted them already. The errors received are:

    WARNING: One or more of your nameservers did not return any of your NS records.
    ERROR: One or more of your nameservers did not respond.
    ERROR: Looks like you have less than 2 nameservers.
    Missing nameservers reported by your nameservers.
    ERROR: I could not get any A records.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Would be nice to have an edit option here.

    The nameservers set within WHM are simply ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com.

    The domain NS records are reporting both requested IPs correctly. So at least it's clear it's not a registrar error.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,723
    Likes Received:
    660
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Feel free to open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look. You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page