Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

hostname resolves to ip1, it should resolve to ip2.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mahmoud73, Feb 20, 2010.

  1. mahmoud73

    mahmoud73 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    The hostname (server123.mydomain.ch) resolves to nnn.nnn.nnn.193. It should resolve to nnn.nnn.nnn.194. Please be sure to correct /etc/hosts as well as the 'A' entry in zone file for the domain.

    Some are all of these problems can be caused by
    /etc/resolv.conf being setup incorrectly. Please check this file if you
    believe everything else is correct.


    You may be able to
    automatically correct this problem by using the ' Add an A entry for your
    hostname ' under ' Dns Functions ' in your Web Host Manager



    Since I moved to my current vps, I am getting this error by mail every day


    I tried, I searched, I edited and modified whatever I found........ still getting the same error.

    my provider is not giving me any support.

    what to do ?
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Please make sure that you have assigned the IP2 in /etc/hosts as mentioned below:

    127.0.0.1 localhost
    X.X.X.194 Hostname (which you have assigned from WHM --> Basic cPanel/WHM Setup --> Hostname).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. mahmoud73

    mahmoud73 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I did....... I will let you know tomorrow.
     
  4. mahmoud73

    mahmoud73 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    I have not so pleasant news.

    I received the same error today around 3:20 am my time.

    any help ?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice