The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hostname... WHM Inıtial Setup

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by blanktruth, Apr 4, 2012.

1. blanktruth

blanktruth Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I am quite new to self managed servers, therefore please excuse my newbie questions...

I am trying to complete the initial setup of WHM, but I am not sure what to write to This Server's Hostname part...

Do I need a domain name specifically for this? If so what do I need to do with that domain? I mean name server settings of the domain or other things like subdomain setup etc?

Thank you in advance...

2. Infopro

Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    From the Change Hostname section of WHM:
    WHM > Networking Setup > Change Hostname

3. blanktruth

blanktruth Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you for your reply...

Lets consider I have a domain name like creamediadesign.com

What should I do with the settings of that domain name? Like nameservers, should I direct the domain to my server, if so how? Should I create a subdomain like test.creamediadesign.com ?

Thank you...

4. Infopro

Staff Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Did you provide a domain name when you picked up the new server? Lets assume you did and that domain is called: yourdomain.com

For hostname as the description states:
    "It is important to choose a hostname that you will not be using for any account."