The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hot-Link Protection - Front Page Extensions??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jrdwiz, Jun 25, 2003.

  1. jrdwiz

    jrdwiz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    When I enable hot-link protection. I can't use Front Page Extensions can some one tell me how to fix this? :confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Keegan

    Keegan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Try reinstalling frontpage extensions (Remove them first), then install frontpage extensions minding the permissions on the .htaccess

    Then edit htaccess directly making sure the permissions are correct.

    Shake and stir

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. jrdwiz

    jrdwiz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have tried "shaking and stirring" but they still will not work together.

    This is my .htaccess files contents...
    **************************************************

    # -FrontPage-

    IndexIgnore .htaccess */.??* *~ *# */HEADER* */README* */_vti*


    order deny,allow
    deny from all
    allow from all


    order deny,allow
    deny from all

    AuthName www.mydomain.com
    AuthUserFile /home/mydomain/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.pwd
    AuthGroupFile /home/mydomain/public_html/_vti_pvt/service.grp



    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://mydomain.com/.*$ [NC]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://www.mydomain.com/.*$ [NC]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://mydomain.com/.*$ [NC]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_REFERER} !^http://www.mydomain.com/.*$ [NC]
    RewriteRule .*\.(jpg|jpeg|gif|png|bmp|tif|mov)$ - [F,NC]

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Using an .htaccess file will corrupt FP extensions. The only way to work with it is by the account owner themselves making changes to the .htaccess file -- which must be created by FP.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. jrdwiz

    jrdwiz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I think I have it all working now..... I'm just going to test by putting a pic in this...


    [​IMG]

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. jrdwiz

    jrdwiz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yup it works

    This is what I did...
    I have all my images or media files in its own folder and I put a htaccess files in that folder (instead of the root dir) that gives hot-link protection and I can still use my FP extentions... :D :D

    [​IMG]
     
    #6 jrdwiz, Jun 25, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2003
  7. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    And did you (or do you) use FP to upload images as well? If yes, then do an upload and see what happens with that image.

    As I don't use FP, this is a bit of a learning experience for me as well. ;)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  8. jrdwiz

    jrdwiz Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yes I do, Well when I go into FP all the pictures are blank with an x but I can upload pics with FP and they work fine. The blank Pics in FP don't bother me.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
    #8 jrdwiz, Jun 25, 2003
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2003
  9. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ok, thanks for sharing.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page