The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hotlinking Protection

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ChrisFirth, Sep 8, 2009.

  1. ChrisFirth

    ChrisFirth Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi all,

    One of our customers would like to use the hotlinking protection feature in cPanel, but for some reason it doesn't seem to work for them, and they get the following error:
    Code:
    Undefined subroutine &Cpanel::Hotlink::Hotlink_add called at (eval 54) line 1.
    	eval 'Cpanel::Hotlink::Hotlink_add(@{$argref});' called at cpanel.pl line 1660
    	main::exectag('<cpanel Hotlink="add($FORM{\'urls\'},$FORM{\'exts\'},$FORM{\'rur...') called at cpanel.pl line 4808
    	main::dotag(undef) called at cpanel.pl line 4691
    	main::cpanel_parseblock('SCALAR(0x2089180)') called at cpanel.pl line 4643
    	main::cpanel_parse('GLOB(0xf54ad10)') called at cpanel.pl line 1318
    
    To test if this was happening just for the one account, I created another test account on the server and the same error came up when I tried to enable hot linking protection.

    I have also created a test account on a couple of other cPanel servers, and they get the same error message. All of the servers have this cPanel version:

    cPanel 11.24.5-R38506 - WHM 11.24.2 - X 3.9

    They are also running CentOS 5.3 x64.

    Since I can't seem to get it working on different servers I am wondering if anyone else who is running the same cPanel version is having the same issue?
     
  2. MattCurry

    MattCurry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Hotlink Protection

    Hello,

    I am sorry to hear that, and it does look like an issue. What I would reccomend would be to run

    /scripts/upcp --force

    and see if that resolves the issue. If it does not please submit a ticket so that we can make sure this isn't a bigger issue, and so we can get you all fixed up asap.

    Thank you,
    Matthew Curry
     
  3. ChrisFirth

    ChrisFirth Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Hi Matthew,

    As the servers are in production at the moment, will running the above command take down cPanel or any of its services while its updating (except to restart the services).

    Thanks
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It will restart cPanel at the end of the update process. Other services ( e.g. exim ) may restart if they are updated.
     
  5. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In plain English, no "/upcp --force" will not have any significant impact on your server operation other than a few "momentary" split second glitches as the processes are restarted after updating.
     
  6. ChrisFirth

    ChrisFirth Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Thanks Spiral and Kenneth for the advice.

    I have ran the update script and the problem still persists, I have just submitted a ticket for the issue.
     
Loading...

Share This Page