The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How are cPAddons updated? Documentation incorrect?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kitchin, Sep 18, 2011.

  1. kitchin

    kitchin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The doc for "How are cPAddons updated?" says (at All Documentation)
    Is this right? I don't see the automatic option at "Manage cPAddons" in my WHM 11.30. Maybe my host has configged it out or something? Is there a cronjob?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    There is a cronjob to notify you of installations:

    /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/cgi/cpaddons_report.pl
     
  3. kitchin

    kitchin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you, but I don't see how that conforms with the documentation.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    196
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Well, I suppose the Docs could be read in different ways there sure. I think it makes sense to me, let me try and expand on it a bit if I can. :)

    That part means if you go to that location you can:

    .. from that interface mentioned just before that line, you can manually Upgrade your sites.

    In the interface mentioned, you see multiple drop down menus, the second has an option to "Upgrade all installs that need it" Using this you would be updating all installs that need it.

    This last line is the confuser I guess:

    The cron updates the repository so that you can, at your leisure: "Upgrade all installs that need it"

    The cron does not touch your sites, only the files needed to upgrade those sites.
     
  5. kitchin

    kitchin Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I get it, "automatically" means "manually all at once." That's actually how I want to do it anyway.
     
Loading...

Share This Page