The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I change nameserver IP?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by nunybw, May 29, 2009.

  1. nunybw

    nunybw Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello

    I moved my site to a new server, but I want to use the nameserver before I used in old server. the nameserver is private nameserver like ns1.****.com and ns2.****.com. I assign new IPs to the two nameserver in the new server, but it seems it doesn't work, it shows only ips in old server, How can I assign a new IP to the nameserver? Thanks very much!
     
  2. SigmaWeb

    SigmaWeb Active Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Athens - Greece
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You have to update the nameserver's IPs at your registrar
     
  3. nunybw

    nunybw Registered

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    registrar? at domain registrar?
     
  4. InstaCarma_Tech

    InstaCarma_Tech Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Right. You have to get the name server IPs updated at your domain registrar end. Please note that there might be some propagation delay for the changes to take effect completely.
     
  5. PlatinumServerM

    PlatinumServerM Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  6. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I was having ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com nameservers for my old server. Now, I have transferred all the domains to new server. I have followed below procedure:

    1. Transferred domain mydomain.com to new server.
    2. Created new ns3 and ns4 A records for mydomain.com in new server from WHM-> Edit DNS zone.
    3. In old server WHM -> Edit DNS zone -> mydomain.com -> created ns3 and ns4 A records and pointed them to new IP addresses (ns3 and ns4) of new server.
    4. Went to Domain registrar control panel and created two child nameservers entries for mydomain.com.

    That's it!
     
Loading...

Share This Page