Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How can I change the main IP address of the server?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by surfturtle, Sep 19, 2002.

  1. surfturtle

    surfturtle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    I need to change the main IP address of my server. I don't know how. I have already tried the 'Edit Setup' feature in WHM but that did'nt change anything. I am beginning to think if that 'Edit Setup' feature works at all even.

    Anyway I need your advice on how to change the IP address.
     
  2. bdraco

    bdraco Guest

    [quote:0925952677][i:0925952677]Originally posted by surfturtle[/i:0925952677]

    I need to change the main IP address of my server. I don't know how. I have already tried the 'Edit Setup' feature in WHM but that did'nt change anything. I am beginning to think if that 'Edit Setup' feature works at all even.

    Anyway I need your advice on how to change the IP address.[/quote:0925952677]

    /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
    /etc/sysconfig/network
    /etc/wwwacct.conf

    You'll need to edit those files and reboot
     
  3. surfturtle

    surfturtle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    I am confused as what to enter in Broadcast IP and Network IP and Gateway.
     
  4. DaveUsedToWorkHere

    DaveUsedToWorkHere Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    [quote:31061a1b08][i:31061a1b08]Originally posted by surfturtle[/i:31061a1b08]

    I am confused as what to enter in Broadcast IP and Network IP and Gateway.[/quote:31061a1b08]

    Broadcast IP is the main ip address of the server.

    Are you running through a router, or directly connecting?

    Have you asked your host to help out with this as they should have your ip info
     
  5. surfturtle

    surfturtle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    thanks for all your help, i just finished changing the IP and it worked perfectly.
     
  6. albertg

    albertg Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I will be having the same problem too.
    I will be changing the main ip.

    Can you tell me what you did please...

    (share it please)

    Thanxxxxxxx
     
  7. albertg

    albertg Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I will be having the same problem too.
    I will be changing the main ip.

    Can you tell me what you did please...

    (share it please)

    Thanxxxxxxx
     
  8. surfturtle

    surfturtle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    301
    I just chnaged the IP address in these files and restarted the server

    /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
    /etc/sysconfig/network
    /etc/wwwacct.conf
     
  9. datawave

    datawave Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    also /etc/hosts was needed for me...
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice