The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I copy autoresponders from one cPanel account to another one?

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussions' started by Kent Brockman, May 31, 2017.

  1. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello guys. I have this situation. One domain in account A has 150 autoresponders configured. Yes, they have a lot of traffic. This company have changed their domain name, thus we transfered in, this other account from a third party cPanel to our server. The new account will be called B.

    The client need that domain from account A become an alias of domain in account B, and that all those autoresponders from A, get migrated to account B, so that they pay for just one hosting account.

    Is this possible?
    When I export email aliases from cPanel, the file has some info about the piping to /usr/local/cpanel/bin/autorespond command. Can I simply copy the /.autorespond folder from account A to acocunt B? and then import the exported aliases? That should be enough? I just want to be 101% sure; I don't want to make a mess because it's a huge and VIP customer.

    Hope you can advice soon.

    Best regards
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,037
    Likes Received:
    1,278
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello Kent,

    The export option for forwarders is intended for use with the same account username. You can still use it to import the autoresponder aliases, but you'll also need to modify the /etc/valiases/aliased-domain.tld file after the import completes to change the account username (you could likely use a "replace" command to make this task easier). Also, ensure the files you copy to the .autorespond directory on the new account have the correct ownership values.

    Thank you.
     
  3. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Great. Thanks Michael. The account B will hold an addon domain of A. So that, I have to export the aliases from A and download a copy of .autorespond folder. Then Delete A account. Create an addon domain, A, on B account. Then upload the files to .autorespond folder, chown all of it with B's user:group, then import the aliases using the mass import feature. Is this correct or am I missing something?
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,037
    Likes Received:
    1,278
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    That's correct, except you'd also need to modify /etc/valiases/aliased-domain.tld after importing the email aliases in cPanel so that it reflects the new account username. It's also a good idea to make a backup of both accounts before making any changes in-case something goes wrong.

    Thanks!
     
  5. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Ok, but having the target domain previously loaded as an addon domain wouldn't suffice?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,037
    Likes Received:
    1,278
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The import process creates a /etc/valiases/domain.tld file with entries such as this:

    Code:
    1234@cptest.tld: "|/usr/local/cpanel/bin/autorespond 1234@cptest.tld /home/cptest/.autorespond"
    Thus, the last part of the entry ("/home/cptest/.autorespond") needs to reflect the username of the new account instead of the username of the account it was exported from.

    Thank you.
     
  7. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    OOHHHHHH OK OK OK.
    So, I can replace the usernames in the exported textfile, then import it and I should be ok, right?
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    37,037
    Likes Received:
    1,278
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, that's correct.

    Thanks!
     
Loading...

Share This Page