The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I force reinstall Munin

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Kent Brockman, May 12, 2015.

  1. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi! Suddenly, Munin stopped recording data and graphs, so I tried the known solution: uninstall it and reinstall it again. But it didnt work.

    I need some command to force reinstall and download all the needed components in case something have been screwed in the disk.

    Any help please? Thanks in advance!

    I pasted the logs below:

    Regarding uninstalling:
    Code:
    /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix --targets=munin
    [20150512.223544]
    [20150512.223544] The following RPMs are unneeded on your system and should be uninstalled:
    [20150512.223544] cpanel-perl-514-Cache-Cache-1.06-1.cp1146
    [20150512.223544] cpanel-perl-514-munin-1.4.7-10.cp1136
    [20150512.223544] Removing 0 broken rpms:
    [20150512.223544] rpm: no packages given for erase
    [20150512.223544] No new RPMS needed for install
    [20150512.223544] Uninstalling unneeded rpms: cpanel-perl-514-munin cpanel-perl-514-Cache-Cache
    [20150512.223544] - uninstalling munin
    [20150512.223544] munin-node (pid 13149) is running...
    [20150512.223544] Stopping Munin Node agents: [ OK ]
    
    Done
    
    Process Complete



    And this is whats outputted when installing Munin:

    Code:
    [20150512.223757]  
    [20150512.223757]   Problems were detected with cPanel-provided files which are RPM controlled.
    [20150512.223757]   If you did not make these changes intentionally, you can correct them by running:
    [20150512.223757]  
    [20150512.223757]   > /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/check_cpanel_rpms --fix
    [20150512.223757]   The following RPMs are missing from your system:
    [20150512.223757]   cpanel-perl-514-Cache-Cache-1.06-1.cp1146
    [20150512.223757]   cpanel-perl-514-munin-1.4.7-10.cp1136
    [20150512.223757]   Removing 0 broken rpms:
    [20150512.223757]   rpm: no packages given for erase
    [20150512.223758]   Downloading http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/RPM/11.36/centos/6/x86_64/rpm.md5
    [20150512.223758]   Downloading http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/RPM/11.46/centos/6/x86_64/rpm.md5
    [20150512.223758]   Downloading http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/RPM/11.46/centos/6/x86_64/cpanel-perl-514-Cache-Cache-1.06-1.cp1146.x86_64.rpm
    [20150512.223758]   Downloading http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/RPM/11.36/centos/6/x86_64/cpanel-perl-514-munin-1.4.7-10.cp1136.x86_64.rpm
    [20150512.223759]   Hooks system enabled.
    [20150512.223759]   Checking for and running RPM::Versions 'pre' hooks for any RPMs about to be installed
    [20150512.223759]   All required 'pre' hooks have been run
    [20150512.223759]   No RPMS need to be uninstalled
    [20150512.223759]   Installing new rpms: cpanel-perl-514-Cache-Cache-1.06-1.cp1146.x86_64.rpm cpanel-perl-514-munin-1.4.7-10.cp1136.x86_64.rpm
    [20150512.223759]   Preparing packages for installation...
    [20150512.223759]   cpanel-perl-514-Cache-Cache-1.06-1.cp1146
    [20150512.223800]   - checking munin user and group
    [20150512.223800]   User 'munin' already exists. ( permissions, owner and quota reset )
    [20150512.223800]   groupadd: group 'munin' already exists
    [20150512.223800]   useradd: user 'munin' already exists
    [20150512.223800]   cpanel-perl-514-munin-1.4.7-10.cp1136
    [20150512.223801]   InnoDB access granted ok.
    [20150512.223804]   Stopping Munin Node agents: cat: /var/run/munin/munin-node.pid: No such file or directory
    [20150512.223804]   kill: usage: kill [-s sigspec | -n signum | -sigspec] pid | jobspec ... or kill -l [sigspec]
    [20150512.223804]   [FAILED]
    [20150512.223805]   Starting Munin Node: [  OK  ]
    [20150512.223805]   Restarting apache (gracefully)....
    [20150512.223806]   This account is currently not available.
    [20150512.223807]   Prelinking is disabled.
    [20150512.223807]   Hooks system enabled.
    [20150512.223807]   Checking for and running RPM::Versions 'post' hooks for any RPMs about to be installed
    [20150512.223807]   All required 'post' hooks have been run
    Done
    
    Process Complete
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Please let us know if you notice any error messages when running the following command, or if it resolves the issue:

    Code:
    su - munin --shell=/bin/bash /usr/local/cpanel/3rdparty/perl/514/bin/munin-cron
    Thank you.
     
  3. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hi! I made it work. Just deleted the "munin" group+user, located all files saying "munin" something and killed them, forced reinstall of cpanel, install munin, and voila. It's happily working now.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    I am happy to see the issue is now resolved. Note that reinstalling cPanel is not advised (I assume you may have forced an "update" of cPanel).

    Thank you.
     
  5. Kent Brockman

    Kent Brockman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Yes! I forced an update. Sorry for the mispell :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page