The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how can I force the creation of name servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by HostEmergency, Jan 19, 2006.

  1. HostEmergency

    HostEmergency Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Is there a way to force the creation of a name server.
    Heres my problem.
    I have 95 domains or so hooked up to my account on one server.
    I'm moving to another.
    I do not want to notify each and every customer to change their name servers since I'm not the registrar for 50% of them especially resellers.
    cPanel on my other server won't create the name servers because they are registered to my first server.
    cPanel on my first server won't delete them.
    My registrar won't allow me to delete them because there are domains that are pointing to them.
    HELP ME!
     
  2. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    hi,
    if you server owner and have root access do following:

    Log to your WHM
    1. Log to you WHM
    2. Go to Tweak Settings menu
    3. scroll down to System section
    4. Check option "Disable whois lookups for the nameserver ip manager."

    If this not help you, do not use WHM nameservers menu and just add required nameserves in file /etc/nameserverips (you will need log to shell) in following format:

    123.123.123.11=ns1.youdomain.com
    123.123.123.12=ns2.youdomain.com

    Of course ip address and domaijn names in above given only as exmaple and you need change it's to your real data.

    Also, if you use this way, you shouldn't use WHM nameserver ip list menu in future, just because it will clear this file /etc/nameserverips
     
  3. HostEmergency

    HostEmergency Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    I still get error message on the end I'm trying to create the name server:
    Sorry, the nameserver NS1.*************** already has the ip ***.***.***.*** assigned to it.
    Asterixes blank out actual detail.
    The other server I deleted the name servers... the registrar I tried to but it won't because I bunch of domains are attached to it that I can't change because most of which are customer accounts who have their own registrars to contact each and its a pain.
     
  4. HostEmergency

    HostEmergency Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    It worked for deleting the other name servers off the other server not to mention whereas before it wouldn't. But I still can't create on my new server.
    I will try the other method and keep you posted.
     
  5. rustelekom

    rustelekom Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    moscow
    Sometimes this happen. May be cpanel updates will help you, but more easyst way will be using second method (i.e. direct editing /etc/nameserverips).
     
  6. HostEmergency

    HostEmergency Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    Thanks!
    Editing the file with ssh did the trick.
    Thank you so much, solved alot of my problems.
    So thats all, nothing else I need to do? It all appears to be fine in whm.
     
Loading...

Share This Page