The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I make customizations to httpd.conf stick?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jols, Aug 19, 2010.

  1. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I think this should be simple.

    I have changed <IfModule log_config_module> in httpd.conf to look like this:

    ------------------------
    <IfModule log_config_module>
    LogFormat "%h %l %u %t \"%!414r\" %>s %b \"%{Referer}i\" \"%{User-Agent}i\"" combined
    LogFormat "%h %l %u %t \"%!414r\" %>s %b" common

    SetEnvIf Remote_Addr 127\.0\.0\.1|66\.132\.174\.73|66\.132\.174\.84|67\.43\.164\.34|67\.43\.164\.34|66\.216\.126\.30 exclude_from_log

    CustomLog logs/access_log common env=!exclude_from_log

    <IfModule logio_module>
    LogFormat "%h %l %u %t \"%r\" %>s %b \"%{Referer}i\" \"%{User-Agent}i\" %I %O" combinedio

    </IfModule>

    </IfModule>
    ------------------------

    It works very well, mostly to get the Apache system to stop filling up the access log with this:
    127.0.0.1 - - [19/Aug/2010:03:14:38 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [19/Aug/2010:03:14:39 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [19/Aug/2010:03:14:40 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [19/Aug/2010:03:14:41 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [19/Aug/2010:03:14:42 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [19/Aug/2010:03:14:43 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -
    127.0.0.1 - - [19/Aug/2010:03:14:44 -0500] "OPTIONS * HTTP/1.0" 200 -

    BUT, the Apache system soon inserts this line back into the mix "CustomLog logs/access_log common" So my changes end up looking like this:

    ------------------------
    <IfModule log_config_module>
    LogFormat "%h %l %u %t \"%!414r\" %>s %b \"%{Referer}i\" \"%{User-Agent}i\"" combined
    LogFormat "%h %l %u %t \"%!414r\" %>s %b" common

    SetEnvIf Remote_Addr 127\.0\.0\.1|66\.132\.174\.73|66\.132\.174\.84|67\.43\.164\.34|67\.43\.164\.34|66\.216\.126\.30 exclude_from_log

    CustomLog logs/access_log common
    CustomLog logs/access_log common env=!exclude_from_log

    <IfModule logio_module>
    LogFormat "%h %l %u %t \"%r\" %>s %b \"%{Referer}i\" \"%{User-Agent}i\" %I %O" combinedio

    </IfModule>

    </IfModule>
    ------------------------

    Which nullifies my customization work.

    Now, I understand that I may need to edit one of the template files here:
    /var/cpanel/templates/apache2/

    But I can't quite figure out what to edit where.

    Can anyone lend some advice for this little task?

    Thanks much.
     
  2. WiredTree Joe

    WiredTree Joe Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #2 WiredTree Joe, Aug 20, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2010
  3. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Thanks, but this leads me in a circle.

    There is no clear instruction anywhere for making the sort of edits to a template file to just add "env=!exclude_from_log", so the <IfModule log_config_module> entry defaults to this:

    CustomLog logs/access_log common env=!exclude_from_log

    Rather than this:

    CustomLog logs/access_log common

    If anyone can let me know precisely how to do this, it would be highly appreciated.
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,450
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You might want to take a closer peek at those links he's posted, or skip right to the important part here:
    InsideVHost < EasyApache3 < TWiki

    "With regard to VirtualHost data, the Apache config distiller does not update the templates in any way. The distiller, in this case, simply updates the datastores within /var/cpanel/userdata. This means that direct edits made to a VirtualHost within httpd.conf can be preserved. "


    HTH
     
  5. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Thanks infopro.

    Problem is however, the <IfModule log_config_module> section I am editing is outside of any Virtual Host Data. And if I am reading the section you pointed out correctly (always questionable), "/usr/local/cpanel/bin/apache_conf_distiller --update" will only preserve changes that have been made to the Virtual Host Data sections.

    Yes? No?
     
Loading...

Share This Page