Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How can i make sure if the updating is running or finished?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by meeti, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi,


    I want to install SuPHP,

    and whm tell me that i need to update the version of Easy Apache to v3,

    i do,


    i can check it is doing from my browser,

    but hours passed,

    it still shows with

    how can i make sure if it is still utdating? or finished?



    thanks
     
  2. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    I am in the exact same situation, and all my hosted sites are down in the meantime.

    I would dearly love to know the answer to this. Anyone?
     
  3. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi,


    http down? or internal error 500?
     
  4. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Apache is just completely off-line. Getting this when attempting to restart at shell:

    [Sat Jan 26 06:11:35 2008] [warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd: line 98: 16854 Segmentation fault (core dumped) $HTTPD -k start -DSSL


    I'm currenlty trying to use WHM/Update Apache to down grade back to 1.3 to see if I can get the sites back up.
     
  5. Tos

    Tos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Did you solve this? Currently having the identical problem trying to start apache after an easyapache run.
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,480
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    158
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you get a segmentation fault its a bug with apache or one of the options.

    If you don't feel comfortable resolving this on your own, please open a ticket at https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/
     
  7. Tos

    Tos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ticket ID: 234676
     
  8. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Yes, the downgrade finally worked. Here's what went wrong earlier in the morning, as far as I can tell (multiple, unrelated problems):

    1 -- Under Apache 2.2. when the restart failed I should have taken a closer look at the error, "NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts" Indeed there was a single line in the httpd.conf file with only this:

    *:80

    I should have removed this line and attempted the restart. This likely would have resolved the issue in my estimation.


    2 -- Impatience on my part. There are a significant number of accounts on this particular server. I had assumed that the process had stopped/crashed, so I jumped the gun when attempting to re-initiate the downgrade process. This led to several self-inflicted issues, e.g. Apache modules that were not properly installed, resulting in bad references in the httpd.conf file, etc.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice