The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can i make sure if the updating is running or finished?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by meeti, Jan 25, 2008.

  1. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,


    I want to install SuPHP,

    and whm tell me that i need to update the version of Easy Apache to v3,

    i do,


    i can check it is doing from my browser,

    but hours passed,

    it still shows with

    how can i make sure if it is still utdating? or finished?



    thanks
     
  2. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I am in the exact same situation, and all my hosted sites are down in the meantime.

    I would dearly love to know the answer to this. Anyone?
     
  3. meeti

    meeti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi,


    http down? or internal error 500?
     
  4. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Apache is just completely off-line. Getting this when attempting to restart at shell:

    [Sat Jan 26 06:11:35 2008] [warn] NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts
    /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd: line 98: 16854 Segmentation fault (core dumped) $HTTPD -k start -DSSL


    I'm currenlty trying to use WHM/Update Apache to down grade back to 1.3 to see if I can get the sites back up.
     
  5. Tos

    Tos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Did you solve this? Currently having the identical problem trying to start apache after an easyapache run.
     
  6. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If you get a segmentation fault its a bug with apache or one of the options.

    If you don't feel comfortable resolving this on your own, please open a ticket at https://tickets.cpanel.net/submit/
     
  7. Tos

    Tos Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ticket ID: 234676
     
  8. jols

    jols Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yes, the downgrade finally worked. Here's what went wrong earlier in the morning, as far as I can tell (multiple, unrelated problems):

    1 -- Under Apache 2.2. when the restart failed I should have taken a closer look at the error, "NameVirtualHost *:80 has no VirtualHosts" Indeed there was a single line in the httpd.conf file with only this:

    *:80

    I should have removed this line and attempted the restart. This likely would have resolved the issue in my estimation.


    2 -- Impatience on my part. There are a significant number of accounts on this particular server. I had assumed that the process had stopped/crashed, so I jumped the gun when attempting to re-initiate the downgrade process. This led to several self-inflicted issues, e.g. Apache modules that were not properly installed, resulting in bad references in the httpd.conf file, etc.
     
Loading...

Share This Page