Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How can i 'reset' ip from showing websites

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by genoxide, May 25, 2004.

  1. genoxide

    genoxide Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Heres a question you don't hear everyday :rolleyes:
    How can i reset the ips to show the good old cpanel error page 'There is no website configured at this address.'? Usually the first account on a server gets the first ip etc, how can i reset this? what files do i need to edit? or is there an option i didn't see?
     
  2. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I would also to know.
    2 different cPanel Server are showing the website of the first domain of the httpd.conf if I use the http://NameVirtualHostIP
    The same if I use the hostname of the server.

    One of them got an Internal Server Error if I try to access
    http://NameVirtualHostIP/bandwidth/
    or
    http://hostname/bandwidth/

    Suexec_log :
    [2004-06-10 14:26:29]: error: target uid/gid (32005/506) mismatch with directory (0/10) or program (0/10) or trusted user (0/10)

    It is using the uid of the first domain of the httpd.conf

    All other cPanel server are showing the default page :
    There is no website configured at this address.
    and got no problems.
     
  3. dianaward

    dianaward Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I MUST find the answer to this question,

    as on one of my servers the first domain keeps getting accused of spamming for spam emails that use a faked "from" address of a domain on that server that has a shared IP. The people trace the domain to the IP, type the IP into the browser, and get his site, and then write him irate emails accusing him of being a spammer. He's understandably upset about this since he runs an autoresponder service and gets enough legitimate spam complaints.

    Someone must know the answer to changing this?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    You need to enter the host rules to your
    httpd.conf file like this :

    <VirtualHost 00.000.000.00>
    BytesLog domlogs/ns.servername.com-bytes_log
    ServerName ns.servername.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>

    Please use the server IP address instead of 00.000*
    and the hostname of your server instead of
    ns.servername.com

    --Deddy
     
  5. dianaward

    dianaward Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Like so, or?

    Like below:
    #<VirtualHost 162.42.208.235>
    # BytesLog domlogs/server.domain.com-bytes_log>
    # ServerName server.domain.com
    #</VirtualHost>

    or without the #s?
    And, leave there or remove:
    #<VirtualHost_default_:*>
    #</VirtualHost>
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice