The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can i 'reset' ip from showing websites

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by genoxide, May 25, 2004.

  1. genoxide

    genoxide Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Heres a question you don't hear everyday :rolleyes:
    How can i reset the ips to show the good old cpanel error page 'There is no website configured at this address.'? Usually the first account on a server gets the first ip etc, how can i reset this? what files do i need to edit? or is there an option i didn't see?
     
  2. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I would also to know.
    2 different cPanel Server are showing the website of the first domain of the httpd.conf if I use the http://NameVirtualHostIP
    The same if I use the hostname of the server.

    One of them got an Internal Server Error if I try to access
    http://NameVirtualHostIP/bandwidth/
    or
    http://hostname/bandwidth/

    Suexec_log :
    [2004-06-10 14:26:29]: error: target uid/gid (32005/506) mismatch with directory (0/10) or program (0/10) or trusted user (0/10)

    It is using the uid of the first domain of the httpd.conf

    All other cPanel server are showing the default page :
    There is no website configured at this address.
    and got no problems.
     
  3. dianaward

    dianaward Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I MUST find the answer to this question,

    as on one of my servers the first domain keeps getting accused of spamming for spam emails that use a faked "from" address of a domain on that server that has a shared IP. The people trace the domain to the IP, type the IP into the browser, and get his site, and then write him irate emails accusing him of being a spammer. He's understandably upset about this since he runs an autoresponder service and gets enough legitimate spam complaints.

    Someone must know the answer to changing this?
     
  4. deddy

    deddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You need to enter the host rules to your
    httpd.conf file like this :

    <VirtualHost 00.000.000.00>
    BytesLog domlogs/ns.servername.com-bytes_log
    ServerName ns.servername.com
    DocumentRoot /usr/local/apache/htdocs
    </VirtualHost>

    Please use the server IP address instead of 00.000*
    and the hostname of your server instead of
    ns.servername.com

    --Deddy
     
  5. dianaward

    dianaward Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Like so, or?

    Like below:
    #<VirtualHost 162.42.208.235>
    # BytesLog domlogs/server.domain.com-bytes_log>
    # ServerName server.domain.com
    #</VirtualHost>

    or without the #s?
    And, leave there or remove:
    #<VirtualHost_default_:*>
    #</VirtualHost>
     
Loading...

Share This Page