The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How can I upgrade all plans on all customer accounts easily?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by lexmark, Dec 7, 2003.

  1. lexmark

    lexmark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hello, anytime I make a change to one of the packages that I provide for web hosting, I have to go to upgrade/downgrade account, select the domain, then update the package. Isnt there an easier way to have all customer accounts update to whatever changes I make at the same time? Thanks
     
  2. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    If you edit a existing package in whm, then once saved, all the domains that are assigned to that package should get any feature you have changed. All ours work this way.
     
  3. lexmark

    lexmark Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Oh ok, I thought someone told me otherwise a while back, perhaps I misunderstood. Great, that saves a lot of time :D
     
  4. verdon

    verdon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2003
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Northern Ontario, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    ya, the only problem with that is that if you have customized the quota for an account(s) using that package, your customization will be undone when you update the package. I discovered that when the only way I could find to give one account (of many using a specific package) a few extra email accounts was to edit the package itself. There's likely a better way but that was all I could find.
    :)
     
  5. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    "ya, the only problem with that is that if you have customized the quota for an account(s) using that package, your customization will be undone when you update the package."

    This is true, thats why you should create a new package for anyone that has been customized and assigned to it. Then if you update a package, it will never be over written.
     
  6. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    What I do about that is have a plan I called "custom". Any customized accounts I put on that plan, then custiomize each one to what I want. I just never make any changes to that plan.
     
Loading...

Share This Page