The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how change hostname

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tidus666x, Jan 8, 2006.

  1. tidus666x

    tidus666x Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello
    I am new in CPanel world and Linux too
    I have a problem
    I got this error when I install CPanel


    ********************* ERROR *********************

    Your hostname is not set properly. Please
    change your hostname to a fully qualified domain name,
    and re-run this installer.

    *******************************************************
    If you wish to change it press Ctrl+C NOW!!!
    Otherwise, you must change it once the install is complete.
    And then run /scripts/upcp --force
    *******************************************************


    The problem is I don't know how to change the Hostname
    can someone help me

    Thanks
    tidus666x


     
  2. tuxdesk

    tuxdesk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Main >> Networking Setup >> Hostname
     
  3. thehostinghut

    thehostinghut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That is not the correct answer as he is not able to login to his cPanel at all.

    It has been covered in here but I will tell you what you will need to do. You will need to login to you server via ssh.

    Then edit the following , to make sure they are correct.

    /etc/sysconfig/network

    /etc/hosts

    You will have to enter in something like server.yourserver.com

    Enter what ever you put in there in your /etc/hosts file also.

    I always reboot when I have to do that but I am sure you can just restart services that will work also.

    If you need help let me know via PM please.

    Tracy
     
  4. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN


    Read the following thread in which I posted information on how to change a hostname: http://forums.cpanel.net/showthread.php?t=41686&highlight=hostname
     
  5. tidus666x

    tidus666x Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I use Mandriva Linux 2006
    and i don't knowhow to acces to the SSH
     
  6. tidus666x

    tidus666x Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Pleas Help !
     
  7. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    You need to download a software on your machine that will allow you to SSH to your server, popular softwares are Putty or SSH.
     
  8. tidus666x

    tidus666x Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    On mu Linux
    or on my Window
     
  9. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    On your windows machine(on your desk).. It is client side software.
     
  10. tidus666x

    tidus666x Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I verry can't Understand
    Can you send me your mail by PM
    thats will moor faster for the help

    <EDIT> I found in your profile :)
     
    #10 tidus666x, Jan 9, 2006
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2006
  11. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    From the cPanel website Mandriva Linux 2006 isn't a supported OS, so you may have problems running it in that environment anyway.
     
  12. Murtaza_t

    Murtaza_t Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Hey chirpy you just stepped-in in time... I never knew it isnt supported.. I thought Cpanel supports all Floavours of Linux.. thanks anyways :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page