Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How do I add a front page to my forum?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Thudner Gaming, Jun 27, 2006.

  1. Thudner Gaming

    Thudner Gaming Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I want to add an main page that brings you to the forum how do I do that?:)
     
  2. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Have a index.php file that includes


    header "Location : forums/"


    forums/ being the directory of your forum.


    Really this question should not be asked on here, i felt kind.
     
  3. avijit

    avijit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    India
    You need to setup a redirect to the domainname.com/forum
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    [being_pedantic]
    HTTP/1.1 requires the 'location' header to contain an absolute URI and not a relative one.

    Furthermore, the correct usage is:

    Code:
    header("Location: URI");
    http://uk.php.net/manual/en/function.header.php
    [/being_pedantic]
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. WEB-PROS

    WEB-PROS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    You are correct however i have used it without full urls and it has worked correctly. However you are totaly correct. :mad: :D
     
  6. ShockHosts

    ShockHosts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Yeah, it shouldn't be asked here unless you want to know how to do it within cPanel. Which you don't need to do. It's simply creating a redirection file.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    HTTP clients don't, according to the RFCs, have to understand relative URLs in redirects and so some HTTP clients may simply not respond correctly.

    I doubt, however, that any such clients actually exist. As I indicated, I was just being pedantic!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice