The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I assign a different ip to one of my name servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by abarbosa, Mar 24, 2014.

  1. abarbosa

    abarbosa Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi there. I already saw posts about this topic. But the solutions in them didn't work or where contradictory.

    My name servers have both the same ip: ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com.

    I just rented an VPS and I'm trying to change the ns2.example.com to a new ip that I bought from the providers of the VPS.

    I tried to edit DNS Zone on WHM and changed:

    ns2 14400 IN A [old_ip]

    to

    ns2 14400 IN A [new_ip]

    I've made this change 48 hours ago so I don't think that's the problem.

    Is this correct? Do I have to do something else?

    I've also tried to change the information on Home »Server Configuration »Basic cPanel & WHM Setup

    But the assign ip address sets the ip to the [old_ip] and the button add an A entry to this nameserver doesn't seem to do anything.

    I would really appreciate your help in this.

    Best regards,
     
  2. MilesWeb

    MilesWeb Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you updated the Name server IP from the registrar's panel ? You will have update it at the registrar level as well.
     
  3. abarbosa

    abarbosa Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have the domain example.com registered with my registrar. I already talked with them and they said that I only had to had the name servers to my DNS Zone. Witch I did what I said in my first post.

    Thank you

    - - - Updated - - -

    I really wanted to say:

    I have the domain example.com registered with my registrar. I already talked with them and they said that I only had to add the name servers to my DNS Zone. Witch I did what I said in my first post.

    sorry
     
  4. MilesWeb

    MilesWeb Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    For the Name servers to work, you will have to update them at the registrar level as well. Just updating them in the zone files won't work. You can check at intoDNS: checks DNS and mail servers health if the registrar has updated them to new server IP's.
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    653
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    They might have misunderstood your question. You will need to modify the name server IP address at the domain registrar per the instructions here (for common registrars):

    Registering Private Name Servers

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page