The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I completely disable WHM backups?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by alexisb, Dec 20, 2004.

  1. alexisb

    alexisb Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi, I put disable in Backup configuration from WHM but I am still getting the "tar" commands with 99% cpu usage in my top listings, also getting the cpuwatch message, that so many threads mention.

    How can I effectively disable these backups?, I am getting huge loads.

    Thank you.
     
  2. kris1351

    kris1351 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2003
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lewisville, Tx
    Click on the Backup Configuration link in WHM and select disable.
     
  3. alexisb

    alexisb Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Already did that

    Hi, thanks for your kind reply but that was the first thing that I did, I have checked many times and Backup Configuration is disabled in WHM, but I can still see the "tar" processes in top.

    Do I have to restart any service in order for this change to take effect?

    I also noticed that the tar commands are pointing to a non existant backup directory, should I manually create this? how should I chown?

    Thanks.
     
  4. PWSowner

    PWSowner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ON, Canada
    Maybe a user is doing a manual backup.
     
  5. alexisb

    alexisb Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Nop

    Hi, nop, the server is new, very few domains, most of them are mine.

    Any other idea?

    Regards!
     
  6. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    killall -9 cpbackup should do it. You'll have to see if any processes such as pkgacct gzip tar etc are still active.. they may just die off though.
     
  7. alexisb

    alexisb Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Disable backup not a good idea

    Hi, this is getting me nuts.

    I realize disabling backup is not the best idea.

    I have re-enabled it, even if it never was disabled, and selected "weekly" and incremental.

    However, I still have a load average around 2.0.

    From time to time I see this line in top using 99% CPU:

    tar cfzp /backup/cpbackup/daily/dirs/_etc_vfilters.tar.gz .... (just the part of the command I can see)

    My question is: Why do I see this line that apparently is for a "daily" backup operation if I have only activated "weekly"?

    My other question: Why do I see /backup/cpbackup directory, I don't see that directory in my file system. Could that be the problem? Should I have to create that directory? How do I chown it?

    So sorry for asking so many questions but this is a new server, very few customers, no manual backups running, and the WHM Backup is "eating" it.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page