The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do i disable mod_proxy ??

Discussion in 'Security' started by a24uall, Oct 25, 2010.

  1. a24uall

    a24uall Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    Hai

    1) Can any one help me on how to disable mod_proxy server wide?
    2) Does this have any effect in server security ?

    Is apache modules compiled statically?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    If you run /scripts/easyapache --force and un-select the following in the Apache Exhaustive Options List, then it should disable mod_proxy:

    Proxy (required for cPanel/WHM/Webmail/Webdisk proxy VirtualHost support)

    Of course, you won't be able to use proxy subdomains option in WHM > Tweak Settings after it's been removed.

    I cannot state about the security aspect.
     
  3. a24uall

    a24uall Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    thanks..
    By the way
    Hws apache modules compiled
    statically ?
    can that be compiled shared ?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Since we recompile Apache every time you add a module, it would seem to be static for most the modules, although I would prefer someone more expert on our setup chime in here on this one.

    I will note that mod_so is compiled on my Apache for my cPanel machines, and with mod_so, you can actually use apxs to add modules that weren't originally included in the original compile. This isn't something I've ever tested on my machine, but I probably will test to see if this is possible in our setup (based on what I'm reading online, it does appear it should be). Of note, the apxs tool is at /usr/local/apache/bin/apxs

    Here's a good discussion on static versus dynamic modules:

    Configuring Apache for Maximum Performance | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials
     
  5. a24uall

    a24uall Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    root@server [~]# httpd -M
    Loaded Modules:
    core_module (static)
    authn_file_module (static)
    authn_default_module (static)
    authz_host_module (static)
    authz_groupfile_module (static)
    authz_user_module (static)
    authz_default_module (static)

    Can that be compiled shared like below ?

    root@server [~]# httpd -M
    auth_basic_module (shared)
    authn_file_module (shared)
    authn_alias_module (shared)
    authn_dbm_module (shared)
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    EasyApache is compiling them static, so no you cannot change the behavior of EasyApache for compiling them. You could use apxs to add the modules you want and it might be possible to do it that way via apxs (this is something you could test out doing).

    Can I ask why they need to be dynamic? Static modules use less RAM. What is the reasoning behind the request?
     
Loading...

Share This Page