The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I do an update for...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by chadi, Apr 21, 2004.

  1. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How in WHM do I do an auto cPanel, Apache, PHP, etc. update?
     
  2. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    In WHM Server Setup/Change Update Preferences should do the cPanel trick.

    Apache, PHP can be done via Software/Update Apache
    HTH
     
    #2 Izzee, Apr 21, 2004
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2004
  3. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah I must be blind lol.

    Ok.

    Will the server go down and if so, how long?

    Also,

    Update Server Software (what software is that?)
    Update System Software (what software is this as well?)
    Update Backend Scripts (is this important, what is it?)

    Thanks for your help too. I'm new to this.
     
  4. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another question, there is a load of radio boxes/checks and all. Some are checked by default (most of them are for PHP). It had 4.3 checked and 4.4. and 4.5 were unchecked. What should I do for example? i want the latest (4.6 was "test" which I won't select).
     
  5. chadi

    chadi BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also, it completed now (Apache update) but am I supposed to restart the server? it ended by restarting httpd itself anyway (apache) so is that enough? I hate restarting the server and interrupting my clients.
     
  6. Izzee

    Izzee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Your server restarts which is not a reboot. A reboot takes a minute or so and a restart quicker than you can blink. ;)


    Download a copy of WHM Manual http://www.cpanel.net/docs/ for starters and see if this answers a few of your questions and yes it is an old version help file but it may help. Also do a search in these froums as most of your questions have been asked and answered already.
    HTH :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page