Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

How do I enable ~account shortcut?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Promethyl, Oct 22, 2006.

  1. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    When a new user registers, they normally can view their page through http://myhost.com/~theiraccountname/

    However, somehow during the server move, this became disabled. How can I fix it?

    Please help me if you know the answer.:eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Got it.

    You cannot define the userdir in the virtual host section of httpd.conf for the domain which is to allow the shortcut.

    <IfModule mod_userdir.c>
    UserDir disabled
    UserDir enabled promed
    </IfModule>
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Or from WHM you could simply go
    Security>>Tweak Securitiy>>mod_userdir Tweak

    This does allow users to circumvent your bw quotas (read steal bandwidth)
     
  4. Promethyl

    Promethyl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Yeah, I just need something to use until their domain starts resolving. I wonder If I could trigger a PHP program to remove the enable lines from their vhost after 72 hours...

    Michael
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. RandyO

    RandyO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I have a lot of domains that are registered and resolve almost immediately. I would not get all that worried about it. If they need access that bad, create a custom "hosts" file for them with a macro to install it
     
  6. shacker23

    shacker23 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Under cPanel 11, it's
    Security>> Security Center>>Apache mod_userdir Tweak
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice