The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do I fix this?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by earthquakie, Jun 28, 2003.

  1. earthquakie

    earthquakie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    I am getting this several times a day....how do I cure it as I only have a single processor?

    Subject: [statscheck] Stats/Server Overload on host.mydomain.com

    IMPORTANT: Do not ignore this email.
    This is cPanel stats runner on host.mydomain.com!
    While processing the log files for user accountname, the cpu has been
    maxed out for more then a 6 hour period. The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of
    this email is
    1:35pm up 2 days, 20 min, 0 users, load average: 2.07, 1.61, 1.54
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load. If you want stats to continue to run even with a high load; Edit
    /var/cpanel/cpanel.config and change extracpus to a number larger then 0 (run
    /usr/local/cpanel/startup afterwards to pickup the changes).

    Any idea's, or known solutions?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. jeroman8

    jeroman8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, there's a lot of tips to not get the error message but
    no fix to dump the actually load on the cpu it seems.

    EVeryone saying thsi and that and some that you should edit
    the confid to more cpus (as it say in the e-mail). But if you
    don't have more than one cpu what is the point doing that
    except not to recive the warnings anymore !?

    /Jerry

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. earthquakie

    earthquakie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    did that

    Yeah, I did that, but it didn't stop the error, it only caused another error stating that the wrong number of cpu's was listed.....so no help with that....:D

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I would pay more attention to this part:

    "The current load/uptime line on the server at the time of
    this email is
    1:35pm up 2 days, 20 min, 0 users, load average: 2.07, 1.61, 1.54
    You should check the server to see why the load is so high and take
    steps to lower the load."

    It's obvious your Server is running a high load and you should find out why.

    This is basic ServerAdmin stuff as it is usually one (or more) of three things:

    - the Server is overloaded with accounts: current hardware specs cannot handle
    - runaway script(s) being used by client(s)
    - processes running that are no longer being used, but still taking up resources

    It's also possible that something was installed incorrectly for the Server itself, but the above 3 are the best places to start.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. andyf

    andyf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    UK
    If its anything like most cp6 boxes I receieve these for, its rubbish.

    It seems that once the load spikes above the X figure you define as extracpus, it mails you saying its been maxed for 6 hours - total rubbish, its only just spiked.

    Most of the time you can ignore them. Better off monitoring load with something like nagios and nrpe.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. dysk

    dysk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hi-
    It certainly should be worthwhile t invcestigate what is causing these high loads. The load averages go like this: load average for last one minute, load average for last five minutes, and load average for last fifteen minutes, so whatever was loading the server had it up there for at least fifteen minutes. It is possible that even a top will tell you what's going on.
    If top doesn't help than you might want to try one of the more comprehensive load monitoring programs mentioned by another poster.

    Regards,
    Erek Dyskant

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. dhendrick

    dhendrick Registered

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    agree

    I agree with goal.

    The message is only saying that While processing log files your server load was higher than X.

    Another point: The user mentioned in the message, is not necessarily the user causing the load. It is only processing the logs for user xyz while there is a spike in load.

    Not very useful really.
     
    #7 dhendrick, Dec 12, 2004
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2004
Loading...

Share This Page