The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

how do i get a domain name to resolve to my webserver?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by edshaw, Nov 11, 2005.

  1. edshaw

    edshaw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i have bought a domain name and created a cpanel accout, i have set up an ftp acount but i cant get the domain to resolve to my server therefore i cant conect with my ftp client.
     
  2. webignition

    webignition Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    You should really contact your hosting provider about this for two reasons:

    1 - only they will be able to determine why something is not working due to the level of access they have to the server hosting the cPanel account

    2 - you're paying them for support, so use it!

    In short, however, you would need to update the nameserver for the relevant domain name and set them to the nameservers of your host. Another reason you'd need to contact your host, as they'd have to tell you what nameservers to use!

    Whilst you're waiting fof your host to reply, login to whatever control panel is provided by the company from whom you bought the domain name and check how to change the nameservers.
     
  3. Marty

    Marty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18

    Since the original poster said he "created" a cpanel account, I would assume he is the server owner and has no "host" to turn to.
     
  4. edshaw

    edshaw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    exactly, i was working with someone who knew how to use cpanel, but they left without warning and i am having to learn how to use cpanel whilst i have paying customers hosted on the server. i dont want to play around too much because i do not know what i might do.
     
  5. Blackcactus

    Blackcactus Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well

    OK when ever you purchase a domain example from
    godaddy.com or domainsbyproxy you have an admin domain manager
    then you would need to have a name server. most hosting companys supply this info
    if you are the hosting comany then you would need to have access to this info.
    you can try to do a whois www.whois.net and normaly this will resolve this info for you.
    example goto whois.net type in a webaddress your main domain for example.
    if you was www.goolge.com ur name server would resolve this

    Domain servers in listed order:

    NS3.GOOGLE.COM
    NS4.GOOGLE.COM
    NS1.GOOGLE.COM
    NS2.GOOGLE.COM

    then if you owned those what ever domains you are trying to add
    you would log into your accout manager for that domain ,then goto manage account and or domains select the domain then a menu is available "set nameserver"

    so if you were adding say www.mynewsite.com and its name servers were

    NS1.theplanet.com
    NS2.theplanet.com

    and you where trying to point them to your new server
    and you owned google.com
    knowing the above information

    you would change ur preferences in you domain manager to
    NS1.GOOGLE.COM
    NS2.GOOGLE.COM and so forth!!!!

    then anywhere from 24hrs-72hrs a process called propagation takes place.
    this is where all the DNS servers are gathering your domains nameserver changes
    then depending if you have your own nameserver or not
    and how your cpanel and you host box is setup will determin if this will be an
    on the fly propagation or addition closing propagation manually fixed
    there is a PTR (point to record) Pointer Record. Also called a reverse record A PTR record associates an IP address with a canonical name. PTR records should point to a name that can be resolved back to the IP address. The name of the pointer record is not the IP address itself, but is the IP address’ four IP octets in reverse order followed by IN-ADDR.ARPA. for Example:

    192.168.0.1 becomes 1.0.168.192.IN-ADDR.ARPA.

    this would be to complicated for me to explain how to manually create a PTR


    hope some of this helps you understand a little more :)
     
    #5 Blackcactus, Nov 13, 2005
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2005
  6. edshaw

    edshaw Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i am probably being really stupid but where is the domain manager where i have to change the preferances
     
  7. psk

    psk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Next to you.. always..
    Your domain name provider must have sent a welcome mail with the url,user name and password to you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page