The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I install EMACS?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Lamar, Feb 19, 2005.

  1. Lamar

    Lamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have a shell user that wants EMACS. Is there an easy way to install? I thought maybe there would be something in the RPMs, but it seems like I tried that a few years ago and there were problems.
     
  2. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Try

    # yum install emacs

    (may work, if you use yum :))

    What OS do you run ?
     
  3. Lamar

    Lamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I use Linux 2.4.20-28.7smp.
     
  4. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hello,

    Thats a kernel - an old one too ;)

    Search for the rpm and install it or download yum or apt-get and install that, then type what I mentioned above.

    http://apt.freshrpms.net/

    And look into upgrading your kernel.

    cat /etc/redhat-release provides the OS version you are running btw.
     
  5. ntwaddel

    ntwaddel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Templeton, CA

    only if he is running redhat ;)
     
  6. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Which with my astute skills, advanced linux knowledge and the reading and understanding of his posts, I determine that he is running redhat. But of course, in the general run of things, you would be correct ;)
     
  7. Lamar

    Lamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How astute you are! LOL Yes, it is Red Hat. What's worse???...I put the wrong server on here. That release is a test server we are giving back to Dedicated Now. Here is the kernel on the server with this particular client: 2.4.20-021stab022.11.777-enterprise (SMP) I am supposing everything will be the same, even though it is Enterprise. Correct?
     
  8. Lamar

    Lamar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I went into WHM and tried to install via RPM, as I did a couple of years ago. It first installed Xaw3d, then Emacs.....all without a hitch. Just another way I can see Cpanel is improving through the years!

    Thanks to the folks that responded, too!
     
  9. DigitalN

    DigitalN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Now that wasn't so hard, I'm glad that you worked that one out. :)

    Might pay to find which update channel you are using too and make sure that your OS keeps updated for the future. ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page