The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I install "iconv" under CPanel?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Remi, Dec 26, 2003.

  1. Remi

    Remi Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Dear Sir

    I have been looking every where witout any luck!

    Can you kindly advice me on how how to compile the Php Module "Iconv" under CPanel.

    It is not listed in the WHM with Php Modules.

    Thank you very much in advance
     
  2. AlexAT

    AlexAT Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ukraine
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    yes, I need this also.

    do you have any information?
     
  3. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You mean you want to use it inside cpanel or you want it for users ? The cpanel php has limited functionality. The system wide php, i guess you do a custom php compile.
     
  4. tocalvin

    tocalvin Registered

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    php support iconv

    I need iconv support for phpadmin also. Does any one know how to do this under redhat or whm?
     
  5. Water

    Water Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I also would be interested in this. Would someone help us?
     
  6. mss6

    mss6 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I want to know how! Anyone please?
     
  7. aromalp

    aromalp Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Iconv Installation


    Hi,

    Iconv installation can be done as follows,

    Download libiconv from, http://ftp.gnu.org/pub/gnu/libiconv/libiconv-1.9.1.tar.gz and perform the following steps,

    1. tar -zxf libiconv-1.9.1.tar.gz
    2. cd libiconv-1.9.1
    3. ./configure
    4. make
    5. make install

    Iconv will be installed in /usr/local/bin by default.

    To enable php support for inconv add the option --with-iconv=/usr/local in the configure options and proceed with the rest of the steps for php compile ( make, make install ). This should configure php with iconv support.. :p

     
  8. soif

    soif Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paris
    I did recompil php manually to get iconv support but it seems that the latest cpanel update (whithout doing an apache update) completely fucked my php :confused: :mad: :mad:

    So if you, as me, cant live without iconv, here is a more simple method to update using Easyapache script, while having the choice to keep iconv.

    Assuming you still have libiconv installed (see previous post).


    1) run /script/easyapache (wait that it load the package) then

    2) in another shell window, edit the config file using:

    pico /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/modules/php

    and add the following lines (i did it on the blank line at the middle of the file):

    $SUBMODULE{'php-iconv'} = join(":","Iconv (Soif Hack)"," --with-iconv=/usr/local ","");
    $SETMODULE{'php-iconv'} =1;

    3) you can now (on the other shell window) choose option 6, then php_modules---> to select the modules you want or not, including Iconv! and start compiling

    This could be really more simple if cpanel would be kind enought to add those two lines in the original package (PLEASE).

    Cpanel team PLEASE :D :rolleyes: ;)
     
  9. AlexAT

    AlexAT Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ukraine
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm second one.

    Please add this to easyapache option.
     
  10. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    easyapache wipes the /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache folder each time.

    it is better to go into /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/buildscript and find --with-zlib close to the bottom and add --with-iconv=/usr/local to the end of --with-zlib.

    there is possibly more than 6 occurences of this. the occurences are fairly close to each other i might add.
     
  11. Fbarajas

    Fbarajas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Playa del Carmen, Mexico
    I don't understand. If the "buildapache" folder is wiped each time, then those changes in the buildscript file will also be wiped, don't they?

    Thanks!
     
    #11 Fbarajas, Nov 8, 2004
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2004
  12. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    just re-add it each time. it's only a tiny bit to add 4 times.
     
  13. Fbarajas

    Fbarajas Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Playa del Carmen, Mexico
    Won't work

    I tried that, but when I run the /scripts/easyapache script it gets erased, so the --with-iconv=/usr/local option gets erased and iconv isn't compiled into PHP/Apache.

    I tried it both ways: using easyapache from a shell, and using it inside cpanel.

    Maybe I'm editing the incorrect file?
     
  14. Sinewy

    Sinewy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    run easyapache with all you need is step 1.

    ensure iconv is installed is step 2. instructions posted by another user above.

    nano or pico /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache/buildscript

    go down near the bottom where you see the PHP configures. there's 4 of them. go to the end of each and add --with-iconv=/usr/local or =/usr depending where your install is.

    save buildscript and cd /home/cpapachebuild/buildapache
    ./buildscript

    let it run :)
     
  15. soif

    soif Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Paris
    read carefully my previous post. To clarify things:
    1) in shell window 1 run easyapache (yes it will erase any previous version
    2) when it has finished to download, edit the file from shell window 2 (see previous instructions)
    3) from shell window 1 continue the install (option 6)

    HTH

    Cpanel, please add it for us in the php file :cool:
     
Loading...

Share This Page