The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do i install Wildcard SSL on WHM

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Gus, Jun 27, 2004.

  1. Gus

    Gus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, California
    I am trying to install a wildcard SSL cert on my WHM/Cpanel server but when i do use the process in WHM i dont get my domains resolving to the cert.
    For example my cert is set for *.mydomain.com
    but when i use this Https://support.mydomain.com it does not use the cert but instead returns an Error 404. I'm on RedHat 9.0 Apache 1.3.29.Thanks
     
  2. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Wild cards require some work in httpd.

    Once you install the cert for the domain.com
    you also need to add the sub-domain in whm

    Add the account with its on IP# support.mydomain.com

    Once done, you need to add the ssl directive for
    support.mydomain.com in httpd.conf.

    Make sure you restart the ssl from apache when you finish editing the http.conf
     
  3. Gus

    Gus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, California
    if its not a bother can u show me how this would be configured

    <VirtualHost 216.109.127.29>
    BytesLog domlogs/pm.mydomain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName pm.mydomain.com
    ServerAlias www.pm.mydomain.com
    ServerAdmin wwwadmin@mydomain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/mydomain/public_html/pm
    CustomLog domlogs/pm.mydomain.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/mydomain/public_html/pm/cgi-bin/
    User mydomain
    Group mydomain
    </VirtualHost>
    what changes would i have to make in order for this to work using the wild card cert.Thanks for your help
     
  4. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Right underneath your domains entry, add the following for the ssl

    <VirtualHost 216.109.127.29>
    BytesLog domlogs/pm.mydomain.com-bytes_log
    ServerName pm.mydomain.com
    ServerAlias www.pm.mydomain.com
    ServerAdmin wwwadmin@mydomain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/mydomain/public_html/pm
    CustomLog domlogs/pm.mydomain.com combined
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/mydomain/public_html/pm/cgi-bin/
    User mydomain
    Group mydomain
    </VirtualHost>

    Enter here;

    <IfDefine SSL>
    <VirtualHost 216.109.127.29:443>
    ServerAdmin webmaster@www.domain.com
    DocumentRoot /home/user/public_html
    BytesLog domlogs/domain.com.net-bytes_log
    User username
    Group username
    ServerName www.domain.com
    ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /home/username/public_html/cgi-bin/
    CustomLog /usr/local/apache/domlogs/www.domain.com-ssl_log "%t %{version}c %{cipher}c %{clientcert}c"
    User username
    Group username
    SSLEnable
    SSLCertificateFile /usr/share/ssl/certs/www.domain.com.crt
    SSLCertificateKeyFile /usr/share/ssl/private/www.domain.com.key
    SSLCACertificateFile /usr/share/ssl/certs/www.domain.com.cabundle
    SSLLogFile /var/log/www.domain.com
    UserDir public_html
    SetEnvIf User-Agent ".*MSIE.*" nokeepalive ssl-unclean-shutdown
    </VirtualHost>
    </IfDefine>

    Make sure you change the above for the username and domain name. Becareful of word wrapping in the config file.
    Also, make sure the path to the cert is correct, as on FREEBSD
    this is the path to ours.

    When adding sub-domains under the SSL, just use the above
    directive in the config as each sub-domain will require its own IP#

    Hope this helps
     
  5. Gus

    Gus Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, California
    Thank you

    Thank you so much for your help.
    it worked :)

    From,

    gus :rolleyes:
     
  6. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Cool....Glad i could assist :D
     
  7. techweb

    techweb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I installed this just like it was posted here and the strange thing is that it works fine for IE but FireFox does not work.
     
  8. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Our wildcards come up fine in Firefox. Where did you get your cert from?...You may want to check with the issuer to see if their certs work in FireFox.
     
  9. techweb

    techweb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    It was from Godaddy. I will check with them and update then.
     
  10. epak

    epak Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    So this can only be done if each sub domain has an ip assigned to it?
    Just wanting to verify.

    But how does whm assign multiple ips to one account?
     
  11. easyhoster1

    easyhoster1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, thats correct...each sub-domain requires its own IP.

    In WHM, create a new account for the sub-domain, check off the IP box and choose the next IP in the drop down box Ip Address (only for new ip-based accounts). This will work when you created your package to assign a IP address.
     
Loading...

Share This Page